Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Oh my gosh, this apple pie was *WONDERFUL*. The crust was the best crust I have ever had on a pie before and I will try it with my other sweet pies. I must admit, I too had my doubts about the crust after reading it, but have no fears, it's first class. The only thing I did change was that I followed an earlier review and added cinnamon and a pinch of allspice, and cut down on the nutmeg by about a pinch. I will definetly be making this again. Thank you Brian for letting us all enjoy your mother's recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving--the crust was excellent, and came out a beautiful golden brown. I will surely make this again; however, I think I'll put sugar on the top crust to give it a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This pie was great, and it was the first time I ever attempted something as difficult as an apple pie. The crust was amazing and looked beautiful coming out of the oven. The lemon juice had a great flavor to the pie. Would put in more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Problem rolling out pie crust? Here's a simple solution. Years ago I could not roll out pie dough for anything! I hit upon this idea thru trial and error and it has worked well for me over the years and it's very easy to do. On the surface you plan on rolling out the dough, wipe the area with a wet cloth and IMMEDIATELY BEFORE IT DRIES, sprinkle with flour and rub it around. Then roll out your dough. It works every time and you can use the same area for all your pies you want to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Okay, even though I didn't have nearly enough flour for this recipe and my dough wouldn't roll (due to the lack of flour) and I dropped the top half of the pie in my oven and had to spatula it out and replace it, this pie (even though it wasn't all that pretty after my abuse of it) STILL tasted good! I would try it again, with all the ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The crust on this pie was absolutly amazing and blew our friends away when I served this on St. Patrick's Day, and have been requested to make it again for Easter. You will not be dissapointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is the first pie I've ever made, and it turned out much better than expected. I was having difficulty getting the dough to hold together, so I doubled the sour cream, and it came out very rich but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was good. It was a little sour but suited me just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just made this pie today and must say this I the best crust I have ever tasted. The dough was a little difficult to work with, but well worth the effort. I did change some things with the filling. I used 5 Granny Smith apples and 1 Honeycrisp apple. I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar and the juice of one lemon. Thanks Brian for a great recipe. I have gotten rave reviews from all the pie lover at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This was the first pie I have ever made from scratch. I agree with everyone else that the crust was very delicious! I made this pie the night before, and by the time we were ready to eat it the next day, it was very soupy inside. I have no idea why, but everyone agreed it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States