Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Problem rolling out pie crust? Here's a simple solution. Years ago I could not roll out pie dough for anything! I hit upon this idea thru trial and error and it has worked well for me over the years and it's very easy to do. On the surface you plan on rolling out the dough, wipe the area with a wet cloth and IMMEDIATELY BEFORE IT DRIES, sprinkle with flour and rub it around. Then roll out your dough. It works every time and you can use the same area for all your pies you want to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I made this pie for St. Patrick's Day and it looked great and was so tasty! I may go slightly lighter on the nutmeg next time, but it was the crust I couldn't stop thinking about for days! Sour cream was the secret ingredient that made it wonderful. I don't think I've ever made a homemade crust before (I always get the Pillsbury folded up kind) but it was easy! Also, I used a shamrock-shaped cookie cutter to cut three shamrocks in the top crust. I didn't remove the cut pieces, I just scooted them over slightly. These acted as decorative steam slots. I also like to put any leftover rolled out crust dough in a small pan, sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar and put it in the oven with the pie for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was rated by my husband as "excellent pie, baby." I did make some variations and let me say right now that this is my second pie this week and I am NOT good at rolling dough. It didn't look as good as it tasted because I can't seem to make the dough as thin, pliable and uniform as others can. I don't think this has as much to do with the recipie than with my inability to do proper pastry. My variations include: Jonagold apples (next time I will use granny smith because these were too sweet) and instead of 1/2 T of nutmeg, I used 1 t. of cinnamon and 1/2 t. of nutmeg and a tiny dash of allspice. Also, I cut the apples into chunks rather than slices and put the pie into a 425 degree oven for 10 mintes and then reduce to 350 for another 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Thank you all for your kind reviews. It's just fantastic to see so many people enjoying this recipe. I have made this pie many, many times and would agree with all of the reviewers who say to cut back on the nutmeg. I would recommend that you use no more ½ a teaspoon of nutmeg when you make it, in fact if you can get hold of mixed spice (not 5-spice!) that works even better! You can use just all-purpose flour for the crust too and it works just as well, also 1-cup of butter is two sticks :-) Hope you all continue to enjoy the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIANGREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I have to admit that I just made the crust last night. I used it to top my chicken pot pie and it was amazing! I upped the salt a bit and cut back on the sugar and it was the best savory pie crust I have ever had. I am not a pie crust fan, but this was so delicious that I was saving the crust for last and picking at the kids left overs. The apple pie filling seems pretty solid and would make a great pie, especially with that crust. My husband and I agree that this will be "The Crust" recipe for savory and sweet pies from now on. BTW- I did use only All Purpose flour and substituted vinegar for the lemon juice. I also put my butter/flour mixture in the freezer for about 15 mins before adding the liquids. The dough was pretty easy to work with considering my kitchen was an inferno. If you have a food processor the dough is such a breeze to put together. I'll never buy ready made crusts or look for another recipe again. Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love to make pies and the crust texture and flavor is one of the most important parts to me & the filling is basic work. So I love to try all differnt crust recipes. Being born in Ireland and this crust being different from usual I wanted to try this one. I did change right away the nutmeg amount thinking it was a print error as I hadn't read the reviews just looked at the star rating. Nutmeg is a very strong spice. I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar over the top crust and used a crust ring to prevent over browning. Placed a round cookie/pizza pan in the oven, preheated to 425 and placed pie on the sheet reduced to 350 after first 10 min. I changed nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and that was acceptable for my taste. This is more of a crumbly texture crust than flaky break apart one and I found that it had to much butter or oily texture, taste. If I were to make it again I would use 1 1/2 sticks of butter and a 1/2 cup more flour and see if this would help take some of the greasyness out of the crust and give a more pleasing crumble,flaky texture and good taste. This much butter/crisco makes for easy rolling and handling for beginner pie makers but not so good taste/texture. Great pie crusts and fillings take lots of practice with a delft (light,fast)hand,the coldest of just the right amount of ingredients. My little Grandaughter is 12 and just starting to practice making pies! Happy Pie Making to you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Outstanding pie!! I cut back on the nutmeg and added cinnamon for my preference. The crust was outstanding!! I thought I had the perfect crust recipe but this one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This pie was great, and it was the first time I ever attempted something as difficult as an apple pie. The crust was amazing and looked beautiful coming out of the oven. The lemon juice had a great flavor to the pie. Would put in more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I used a frozen crust because I was short on time, but the filling for the apple pie is great. Next time I'll make the crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
i added some cinnamin, allspice, and about 1/4 cup light brown sugar. best apple pie i've ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States