Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Okay, even though I didn't have nearly enough flour for this recipe and my dough wouldn't roll (due to the lack of flour) and I dropped the top half of the pie in my oven and had to spatula it out and replace it, this pie (even though it wasn't all that pretty after my abuse of it) STILL tasted good! I would try it again, with all the ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Problem rolling out pie crust? Here's a simple solution. Years ago I could not roll out pie dough for anything! I hit upon this idea thru trial and error and it has worked well for me over the years and it's very easy to do. On the surface you plan on rolling out the dough, wipe the area with a wet cloth and IMMEDIATELY BEFORE IT DRIES, sprinkle with flour and rub it around. Then roll out your dough. It works every time and you can use the same area for all your pies you want to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This pie was great, and it was the first time I ever attempted something as difficult as an apple pie. The crust was amazing and looked beautiful coming out of the oven. The lemon juice had a great flavor to the pie. Would put in more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving--the crust was excellent, and came out a beautiful golden brown. I will surely make this again; however, I think I'll put sugar on the top crust to give it a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I think with all of the changes the reviewers have made it will be a great pie. I found that you do need to go lighter on the nutmeg and bake it about 10 minutes longer. I only needed 4 large apples and also had a difficult time with the crust being too sticky...even after I refrigerated it, but the crust problems could be just me. All in all it was a pretty good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was rated by my husband as "excellent pie, baby." I did make some variations and let me say right now that this is my second pie this week and I am NOT good at rolling dough. It didn't look as good as it tasted because I can't seem to make the dough as thin, pliable and uniform as others can. I don't think this has as much to do with the recipie than with my inability to do proper pastry. My variations include: Jonagold apples (next time I will use granny smith because these were too sweet) and instead of 1/2 T of nutmeg, I used 1 t. of cinnamon and 1/2 t. of nutmeg and a tiny dash of allspice. Also, I cut the apples into chunks rather than slices and put the pie into a 425 degree oven for 10 mintes and then reduce to 350 for another 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I used a frozen crust because I was short on time, but the filling for the apple pie is great. Next time I'll make the crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I made this pie for St. Patrick's Day and it looked great and was so tasty! I may go slightly lighter on the nutmeg next time, but it was the crust I couldn't stop thinking about for days! Sour cream was the secret ingredient that made it wonderful. I don't think I've ever made a homemade crust before (I always get the Pillsbury folded up kind) but it was easy! Also, I used a shamrock-shaped cookie cutter to cut three shamrocks in the top crust. I didn't remove the cut pieces, I just scooted them over slightly. These acted as decorative steam slots. I also like to put any leftover rolled out crust dough in a small pan, sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar and put it in the oven with the pie for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe turned out great! So delicious when served warm. Pastry was easy to work with and turned out great. I used 6 apples and added an extra tbsp flour to the filling, and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
wonderful recipe..i especially loved the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States