Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This pie was AMAZING. The crust was easy to make and was the perfect flavor and flaky. I only made one change to the recipe, and that was to sprinkle the top of the pie with turbinado sugar, which made its appearance really nice (tasted good too!). I will definitely be making this pie again and again - BEST APPLE PIE I'VE HAD!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Thank you all for your kind reviews. It's just fantastic to see so many people enjoying this recipe. I have made this pie many, many times and would agree with all of the reviewers who say to cut back on the nutmeg. I would recommend that you use no more ½ a teaspoon of nutmeg when you make it, in fact if you can get hold of mixed spice (not 5-spice!) that works even better! You can use just all-purpose flour for the crust too and it works just as well, also 1-cup of butter is two sticks :-) Hope you all continue to enjoy the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIANGREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This crust was awesome! I had some problems rolling it though (90 degrees here yesterday) so when I rolled the top crust I did it between two sheets of waxed paper and that worked much better. I cheated and used a can of Comstock apple filling adding nutmeg-1 tsp and lemon juice. I plan on making the crust to use on my chicken pot pie, also want to try it for a quiche. Follow up: As good as this crust is and it is, the bottom crust just doesn't hold up the next day so plan on eating this the day you make it. I still want to use this for a top crust on my chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This was the first pie I have ever made from scratch. I agree with everyone else that the crust was very delicious! I made this pie the night before, and by the time we were ready to eat it the next day, it was very soupy inside. I have no idea why, but everyone agreed it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just made this pie today and must say this I the best crust I have ever tasted. The dough was a little difficult to work with, but well worth the effort. I did change some things with the filling. I used 5 Granny Smith apples and 1 Honeycrisp apple. I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar and the juice of one lemon. Thanks Brian for a great recipe. I have gotten rave reviews from all the pie lover at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was good. It was a little sour but suited me just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Oh my gosh, this apple pie was *WONDERFUL*. The crust was the best crust I have ever had on a pie before and I will try it with my other sweet pies. I must admit, I too had my doubts about the crust after reading it, but have no fears, it's first class. The only thing I did change was that I followed an earlier review and added cinnamon and a pinch of allspice, and cut down on the nutmeg by about a pinch. I will definetly be making this again. Thank you Brian for letting us all enjoy your mother's recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is the first pie I've ever made, and it turned out much better than expected. I was having difficulty getting the dough to hold together, so I doubled the sour cream, and it came out very rich but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The crust on this pie was absolutly amazing and blew our friends away when I served this on St. Patrick's Day, and have been requested to make it again for Easter. You will not be dissapointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Okay, even though I didn't have nearly enough flour for this recipe and my dough wouldn't roll (due to the lack of flour) and I dropped the top half of the pie in my oven and had to spatula it out and replace it, this pie (even though it wasn't all that pretty after my abuse of it) STILL tasted good! I would try it again, with all the ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States