Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
For a rookie cook, this wasn't the easiest thing to make... I was covered with flour and looked white as the Pillsberry Doughboy when I was done with the crust. The finished product, however, was outstanding. The only thing I changed was to make a 10" pie instead of a 9" because I had so many apples cut up. I should have made two pies because my wife and I ate half the pie before it cooled. This was my first attempt at making any kind of desert. Best apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This pie was AMAZING. The crust was easy to make and was the perfect flavor and flaky. I only made one change to the recipe, and that was to sprinkle the top of the pie with turbinado sugar, which made its appearance really nice (tasted good too!). I will definitely be making this pie again and again - BEST APPLE PIE I'VE HAD!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Thank you all for your kind reviews. It's just fantastic to see so many people enjoying this recipe. I have made this pie many, many times and would agree with all of the reviewers who say to cut back on the nutmeg. I would recommend that you use no more ½ a teaspoon of nutmeg when you make it, in fact if you can get hold of mixed spice (not 5-spice!) that works even better! You can use just all-purpose flour for the crust too and it works just as well, also 1-cup of butter is two sticks :-) Hope you all continue to enjoy the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIANGREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This crust was awesome! I had some problems rolling it though (90 degrees here yesterday) so when I rolled the top crust I did it between two sheets of waxed paper and that worked much better. I cheated and used a can of Comstock apple filling adding nutmeg-1 tsp and lemon juice. I plan on making the crust to use on my chicken pot pie, also want to try it for a quiche. Follow up: As good as this crust is and it is, the bottom crust just doesn't hold up the next day so plan on eating this the day you make it. I still want to use this for a top crust on my chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This was the first pie I have ever made from scratch. I agree with everyone else that the crust was very delicious! I made this pie the night before, and by the time we were ready to eat it the next day, it was very soupy inside. I have no idea why, but everyone agreed it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just made this pie today and must say this I the best crust I have ever tasted. The dough was a little difficult to work with, but well worth the effort. I did change some things with the filling. I used 5 Granny Smith apples and 1 Honeycrisp apple. I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar and the juice of one lemon. Thanks Brian for a great recipe. I have gotten rave reviews from all the pie lover at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was good. It was a little sour but suited me just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Oh my gosh, this apple pie was *WONDERFUL*. The crust was the best crust I have ever had on a pie before and I will try it with my other sweet pies. I must admit, I too had my doubts about the crust after reading it, but have no fears, it's first class. The only thing I did change was that I followed an earlier review and added cinnamon and a pinch of allspice, and cut down on the nutmeg by about a pinch. I will definetly be making this again. Thank you Brian for letting us all enjoy your mother's recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is the first pie I've ever made, and it turned out much better than expected. I was having difficulty getting the dough to hold together, so I doubled the sour cream, and it came out very rich but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The crust on this pie was absolutly amazing and blew our friends away when I served this on St. Patrick's Day, and have been requested to make it again for Easter. You will not be dissapointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States