Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Outstanding pie!! I cut back on the nutmeg and added cinnamon for my preference. The crust was outstanding!! I thought I had the perfect crust recipe but this one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Very good, I made this pie two times in one week! The crust is delicious, the the filling too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLIMUNDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love to make pies and the crust texture and flavor is one of the most important parts to me & the filling is basic work. So I love to try all differnt crust recipes. Being born in Ireland and this crust being different from usual I wanted to try this one. I did change right away the nutmeg amount thinking it was a print error as I hadn't read the reviews just looked at the star rating. Nutmeg is a very strong spice. I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar over the top crust and used a crust ring to prevent over browning. Placed a round cookie/pizza pan in the oven, preheated to 425 and placed pie on the sheet reduced to 350 after first 10 min. I changed nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and that was acceptable for my taste. This is more of a crumbly texture crust than flaky break apart one and I found that it had to much butter or oily texture, taste. If I were to make it again I would use 1 1/2 sticks of butter and a 1/2 cup more flour and see if this would help take some of the greasyness out of the crust and give a more pleasing crumble,flaky texture and good taste. This much butter/crisco makes for easy rolling and handling for beginner pie makers but not so good taste/texture. Great pie crusts and fillings take lots of practice with a delft (light,fast)hand,the coldest of just the right amount of ingredients. My little Grandaughter is 12 and just starting to practice making pies! Happy Pie Making to you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
i added some cinnamin, allspice, and about 1/4 cup light brown sugar. best apple pie i've ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Thanks Brian for a great recipe, from a Cork girl herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
The crust on this pie was wounderful but the filling was overpowering with the amount of nutmeg that was called for in the recipe :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Excellent pie. This is by far the absolutely best pie crust I have ever made. My husband says it's the best crust he's ever tasted. My little boy doesn't leave any crust on his plate anymore. (darn!) I have used the crust recipe many times now for other pies as well as for quiches. It's like mom makes, but these aren't the ingredients she uses. Thanks - we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Great pie and crust. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was my first time making a pie and it came out incredible! It tastes just like the store-bought apple pies. I did reduce the amount of nutmeg though and added some cinnamon, as another reviewer suggested. The crust came out incredibly flaky and just perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Sooo good! The crust is so much better than the usual. 5 times 5 stars. (I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Found the crust a tad difficult to work with; ended up "patting" it on instead of rolling it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States