Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
this crust is amazing the flavor is very nice too, not the typical apple pie flavor but it's still yummy. my favorite new pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this pie for St. Patrick's Day, and while I found the crust a little difficult to work with, it was very flaky and tasty, which I liked. I baked the pie for 45 min exactly, and I thought it was done, but when I cut into it about an hour later, there was a lot of moisture in the bottom. It probably could have cooked a little while longer. The apples were also a little crisp, but I like it when there's a little "bite" for the texture. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
What a great recipe, the whole family loved this pie. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Hey Brian, I am born and raised in Ireland. This was GOOD! I loved it. My daughter and I are going to make it our tradition when we MOVE HOME this Summer :O) Thanks for sharing :) Deirdre
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Lawlor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As I was afraid that the base would be soggy, as previously mentioned, I made a different paste for the base (200 g all-purpose flour, 100 g butter, 2 tablespoons sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, the minimum necessary of water to make a dry paste). I replaced half of the flour in the apples with sultanas placed on the base before placing the apples and less sugar in the apples + 1 teaspoon of ground cinamon with no nutmeg). It was excellent. Also just made a one paste pie with just apples, sugar & cinamon and simply the top crust. It was DELICIOUS and lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is an excellent pie! The crust can be a little tricky to work with - and have found the BEST results are to roll it out between two sheets of well floured wax paper. ALWAYS a big hit wherever I take it! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My family loved this pie. The crust was easy to make and had a great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
My expectations must have been high after reading all the great reviews as I wasn't all that impressed. This apple pie was good, but I thought the pie crust would be super, especially after all the work I put into it and it wasn't anything spectacular. I'm going to try this filling with the Best Pie crust recipe from this website - I enjoy that crust and its much easier to make. This crust was super crumbly and difficult to work with and roll out. Once you get it rolled out though, then it is like regular pie dough and it works fine. I sprinkled sugar on top of the pie crust before baking it - gave it a nice sweet touch. I cut back on the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon and added a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I have to admit that I just made the crust last night. I used it to top my chicken pot pie and it was amazing! I upped the salt a bit and cut back on the sugar and it was the best savory pie crust I have ever had. I am not a pie crust fan, but this was so delicious that I was saving the crust for last and picking at the kids left overs. The apple pie filling seems pretty solid and would make a great pie, especially with that crust. My husband and I agree that this will be "The Crust" recipe for savory and sweet pies from now on. BTW- I did use only All Purpose flour and substituted vinegar for the lemon juice. I also put my butter/flour mixture in the freezer for about 15 mins before adding the liquids. The dough was pretty easy to work with considering my kitchen was an inferno. If you have a food processor the dough is such a breeze to put together. I'll never buy ready made crusts or look for another recipe again. Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Outstanding pie!! I cut back on the nutmeg and added cinnamon for my preference. The crust was outstanding!! I thought I had the perfect crust recipe but this one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States