Multigrain Seeded Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
A fairly dense and tasty bread. The leftover loaf made good french toast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This bread is absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like multigrain breads, but I can't keep this in the house. I've been asked to make it for some of his friends, too. Toasted, it's out of this world! I increased the amount of seeds in the recipe and it works out just fine. It is time consuming to make, but the effort is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Excellent flavor and texture; I made this for a dinner party and it was devoured! Seeds reserved for the top didn't stick very well, so next time I'd probably keep less for the top and just add it into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My husband is German and it is difficult to get authentic German seeded bread even in NYC but this recipe was a must keep! It was perfect. We just dumped the ingredients into the bread machine on the whole wheat cycle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out horribly! The dough was too wet and sticky to actually knead or form. I did manage to get it into the pan and baked it for 30 minutes and it came out flat and dense. A horrible waste of my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
The recipe may be good, but the instructions are lacking, I believe. I've attempted this recipe four or five times, and each time had the same problem as FUSSYLITTLECHEF. Namely, after combining the liquids with the flour and mixing, it never forms into dough. It remains a highly viscous and sticky goo. Now I know that it should firm up if you mix it, but no amount of mixing seems to fix this. I end up having to add another 1.5 or so cups of flour in order to get it to form dough. But then the bread ends up being quite dense (which may or may not suit your taste). Maybe this recipe is only for bread machines?? It doesn't seem to work well if you try to make it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I used flax seeds instead of sesame seeds and this recipe is a keeper! I also poured about 1/4 cup of boiling water over the nut & oats mix to moisten them. I let them soak up the water while the bread was rising. This made the bread nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I wanted to make two loaves so doubled everything but ACK! forgot to add double the yeast. The loaves turned out OK but slightly more dense than typical bread. I added 4 tbsp of pine nuts to mine. The house smelled wonderful after i finished baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Fella
Home Town: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Loved this bread. Will add a little more salt next time. Also used egg white wash on top of loaf, instead of milk and seeds adhered perfectly. Delicious! My diabetic husband loved it. I'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 2 tablespoons of flax seeds too. I love this bread, Teroula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States