Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These are moist, delicious and easy to make. I did not have soy flour on hand so I used bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great, versatile recipe. I read others comments so I used Greek vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk since I did not have any. Instead of rye flour I used sorghum as Dr. Oz recommends it since it is not high on the glycemic index. Then I added 1/3 cup of ground flax seed and a maybe 2 TB of artificial sweetener. I was looking to make blueberry muffins so I added 1/3 cup of them and baked it lower in my convection oven at 350 degrees. They came out way better than the other muffins I've made from recipes on here, real moist and just right as far as sweetness. I am going to have this be my go-to muffin recipe. Thanks, Saundra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I added sugar, pecans, and cinnamon and used orange juice instead of buttermilk. These rose very well. I got 12 small muffins. They were pretty dry, however, and did not have much flavor despite what I added so I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I absolutely loves these muffins but I did change them up a bit. I was on a search for a base recipe to make protein muffins. I did 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup oat bran, 1/3 cup vanilla whey protein powder. I used apple sauce + 1 tsp baking powder in place of the egg, and 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. I used 1 banana (mashed) in place of the oil and I added 1 tbs of chia seeds. I also added chopped prunes & dates and some chopped walnuts as well. I baked at 350 deg for about 22 minutes. These muffins turned out fantastic. Super healthy but very delicious. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My batter was really runny, so I added a bit of oatmeal, but they were still pretty squishy. I cooked them at 450, but agree with others a lower temp would be better. I added cinnamon and a bit of orange marmalade since I did not have juice. Loved the flavor, need to work on the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very good! I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 rye flour because I had no soy. I also used 1/2 OJ 1/2 Milk with Vinegar for the buttermilk. Very good - not dry at all! I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Because of the comments saying the muffins lacked flavor, I used butter instead of oil, but I accidentally used 1/3 cup instead of the 1 tablespoon because I was looking at the wrong recipe. I also increased the salt to 3/4 teaspoon, used 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar instead of molasses, used oat bran instead of barley flour and used a combination of reconstituted milk non-fat milk and apple juice for the liquid. I sprinkled brown sugar and quick oats on top for a garnish. They were very tasty but a little on the salty and buttery side. I think next time I will use 2 tablespoons of butter, the same 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar and the same mix of flours and liquids. The balance of flours in this recipe is good because the use of soy flour isn't apparent in the texture or flavor. I basically made these in lieu of multi-grain bread, so someone who wants more "traditional" muffins should probably add spices or fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I was prepared to love this recipe because I like my muffins not very sweet. However, and maybe it's because I substituted soy milk for the buttermilk, the texture turned out a bit too chewy for my taste. Kind of like that bread they serve at Ethiopian restaurants. I heeded other reviewers' advice and lowered the oven temperature to 400, and the muffins were done in 17 minutes and not burned at all. I added chopped walnuts, raisins, and dried cranberries. Overall, an OK muffin, but there are lots of other healthy muffin recipes out there that taste better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
These were OK, but a bit bland. The cooking time was definitely too long, as I but the timer for 14 minutes, and the tops were burnt after 10. Will probably make them again to use up soy and rye flour, but will definitely add raisins or cranberries to make them more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
These came out OK, a bit dry but it could be because my oven is kinda screwed up and they were overcooked. I probably won't make them again only because the sodium is very high for my diet needs, but maybe. I used extra whole wheat flour instead of the rye just because that's what I had on hand, and also added walnuts, raisins, half a chopped up banana and a diced peach. They didn't keep well, because of the peach so I highly recommend omiting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States