Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This recipe is very aromatic and wonderful. I did change a few things because of difficult-to-find ingredients, and preference. For example, I actually opted not to use the blender because I love soup to have chunks of veggie in it. I also added 3 chicken breasts cut into small pieces, so my version was more like a REALLY tasty chicken soup. I used ground cardamom, and curry spices instead of the actual fresh leaves and pods, and tamarind paste instead of extract because of the rarity of the ingredients. Despite the simplifications/substitutions, this soup was INCREDIBLE. This is one of the best recipes on the whole site...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Note: It's very hard to get fresh curry leaves in North America. You have to get it at specialty Indian stores. You can substitute a Bay leaf instead, as recommended by my Indian friend. It isn't anything like the curry powder, which is a combination of the spices used in this recipe (tumeric, ginger, corriander, cumin...etc) This soup was excellent, but very spicy. I can usually handle my heat...but this was quite hot! The recipe calls for 2 green chiles chopped up, but it doesn't say whether to include the seeds or not. So I included the seeds for one and not the other, and I think that made it extremely HOT. We had to eat it with bread...but it's still very yummy. I'll make it again, with just one chile next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedre

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Seriously excellent recipe. Anyone familiar with cooking Indian food will find it a breeze to make and anyone familiar with the taste of Indian food will know this ranks among the best Mulligatawny recipes. Do yourself a big favor, chefs: Roast and grind your own cumin, corriander seed, clove and cinnamon and make a slow-cooked caramel colored ghee to cook with. Really killer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was delicious soup! I had no chilies so I used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and I threw in some chickpeas at the end to give it more body. I also used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat and calories. This will definitely be a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I wanted more of a curry and rice intead of soup, so I tweaked this in ways that don't really matter, so I won't bother to list them here. The recipe on its own is a great one. My observations: 1) it NEEDS salt, about 2 teaspoons; 2) if you don't want a spicy soup, be sure to clean all of the ribs and seeds out of your chilies before mincing them; 3) if you don't cook the spices in the beginning of the recipe as directed, the flavor will be good, but will be different than if you'd cooked them; 4) The flavor of cardamom pods differs from that of ground cardamom, and the pods are easier to find than the curry leaves, so do hunt them down if you can - I bought a jar of cardamom pods at Cost Plus World Market for $3. FYI, Indian grocery store items are a GREAT deal, as their items tend to be very inexpensive, which helps when you're taking on a recipe full of strange ingredients you don't normally have on hand. I went to an Indian grocery store in our area and asked about fresh curry leaves. The store didn't sell them, but the proprietor gave me a handful for free (they have a small homemade frozen food section and had the leaves on hand). So if you can't find the leaves, it's worth it to ask around, even at Indian/Asian restaurants. If you ask where they get the curry leaves, they might slip you some just to be nice (and garner your future business). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Used good Garam Masala and yellow curry instead of the individual spices. I did add fresh ginger, jalepeno and more cumin and cayenne for a spicier flavor. I added sweet potato instead of white potato, a few stocks of celery, 2 cups diced chicken and served with basmati rice. I used a hand mixer to puree half of the dish before serving. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Mmm...this is tasty and authentic. The key to good Mulligatawny Soup is an aftertaste that lasts for hours. This has it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This was a delicious and fragrant soup, I didn't think 15 minutes would be long enough for the potatoes but with them cut into tiny pieces it was just the right amount of time. We added several drops of Sriracha hot sauce to each bowl as it was not very spicy. Father-in-law and husband both loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was a delightful soup. We served it as lunch with homemade flast bread. The only changes that I made was adding some lightly breaded chichen nuggets and a can of garbonzo beans. Also used ginger paste, cayanne pepper and I did not have any cilantro. Before I added the coconut milk it seemed to be spicier than I would have wanted it to be, but after adding the coconut milk it was wonderful. Served heavy cream at the table and what a success. Glad that I made a large batch. My husband and I had more for dinner. Will look forward to preparing it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was very tasty and easy to make. I added a cup of cooked rice after it was finished, to add texture. I can see how cooked chicken would be good too. If I were to make it again, I would add more broth and less lentils. As it is, it seems more like pea soup than any mulligatawny I've had before. Still, the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States