Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is one of the best recipies I have ever tried. It is simple and simply delicious! I substiruted the fresh spices for ground and used yams as opposed to reuglar potatos. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is the best recipe for this soup that I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was very tasty and easy to make. I added a cup of cooked rice after it was finished, to add texture. I can see how cooked chicken would be good too. If I were to make it again, I would add more broth and less lentils. As it is, it seems more like pea soup than any mulligatawny I've had before. Still, the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is the first time I have ever had Mulligatawny soup so I'm not sure what it typically tastes like. I love Indian food and decided to make this recipe because it sounded intriguing. I followed the directions and added the spices as stated (as ground spices rather than whole). The overall result was delicious but this is probably not a recipe I will make again. I agree that it would taste MUCH better with whole spices that are toasted in oil and ground before adding. I also think I would reduce the amount of broth added to 5 or 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Awesome! I added Chick peas and chicken. Very tasty and a favorite with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This recipe is very aromatic and wonderful. I did change a few things because of difficult-to-find ingredients, and preference. For example, I actually opted not to use the blender because I love soup to have chunks of veggie in it. I also added 3 chicken breasts cut into small pieces, so my version was more like a REALLY tasty chicken soup. I used ground cardamom, and curry spices instead of the actual fresh leaves and pods, and tamarind paste instead of extract because of the rarity of the ingredients. Despite the simplifications/substitutions, this soup was INCREDIBLE. This is one of the best recipes on the whole site...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is a great recipe. I'll keep on making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very tasty soup - even my picky parents, who are often afraid to try new flavors and food combinations, liked it. Since I didn't have a regular potato, I used an orange-fleshed sweet potato, ground cardamom, and I eliminated the clarified butter. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Good - but too much bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Wonderful! This soup was easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States