Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I recommend making this recipe the day before serving, as the flavor improves dramatically the next day. I'm a newbie to Indian food and this was my first time trying to make it at home. I have little basis for comparison, but I thought the soup seemed to be missing something. Most Indian dishes I've tried have a sort of....completeness in flavor that I thought was lacking here. I was missing a certain spiciness. This may just be due to my inexperience with Indian spices, though! I added some chili powder to help boost the heat; that seemed to help some. This recipe is definitely worth making at least once, although I don't think I'll make it again until I've tried enough mulligatawny soup to know what I was missing from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This soup was pretty good.. I may make it again, even though I wasn't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Excellent! Very authentic flavors, I would only blend about half the soup. Becareful with the tumeric it can stain the your counter tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Used good Garam Masala and yellow curry instead of the individual spices. I did add fresh ginger, jalepeno and more cumin and cayenne for a spicier flavor. I added sweet potato instead of white potato, a few stocks of celery, 2 cups diced chicken and served with basmati rice. I used a hand mixer to puree half of the dish before serving. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Very good recipe. I used sweet potatoes and left out the apple and instead ganished the soup with some apple chutney on top. It is a new favorite thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I actually got teary eyed when I tasted this...yummmmm. It was EXACTLY what I was looking for...even thought the directions were a little cloudy and I had some difficulty finding some of the ingredients.I ate this once a week when I was pregnant and spent a fortune!!! So now, I made a huge batch and froze it.THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!!!It came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This was a delicious and fragrant soup, I didn't think 15 minutes would be long enough for the potatoes but with them cut into tiny pieces it was just the right amount of time. We added several drops of Sriracha hot sauce to each bowl as it was not very spicy. Father-in-law and husband both loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was pretty close to what we get at our Indian restaurant. I wasn't so sure about the apple, but it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I was dissapointed with this mulligatawny. I was looking for something different than my usual mulligatawny which we love. I found this rather bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was delicious soup! I had no chilies so I used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and I threw in some chickpeas at the end to give it more body. I also used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat and calories. This will definitely be a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States