Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Hi, inspired by the annual tv play "dinner for one" broadcasted every new year's eve on German TV since decades I always wanted to cook taste that famous dish served in this play. So I found your recipe which I found easy to make and extremely delicious. I varied it by adding a whole filleted chicken breast to the pot and cooking it together with the carots, potatoes etc. Then I took the chicken out of the soup before pureeing it. After cutting the meat into bite-size pieces I put it back in the purred soup. I also found a piece of french baguette a good company to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
verrry delicious! as for people having trouble finding the "spices + curry leaves" ur best bet is an indian store...very cheap, and you'll find all the ingredients since they specialize, you might even think its cheaper since you get the spices in more quantity for a better price...i store all my spices in little bottles from dollar store or from the container store...keeps it veery fresh! anywhoo..very yummy and if you think it might be too spicy..just add 1 pepper...its a VERY hearty meal..about 2 cups of this soup will fill you up and some! also i think if you just add curry powder instead of some of the spices...it will change the flavor alot..( NOT for the better)...curry powder is not my favorite. all in all a huge hit @ every gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Although this is a tasty soup, it was just a little disappointing. I found it a bit too creamy for my taste and had to double the amount of lemon juice. I also added chili flakes to help increase the heat and used two fresh tomatoes instead of tomato paste. The soup was quite filling (a little goes a long way), especially if you eat it with a nice slice of toasted rye rubbed with garlic and fresh tomatoes. A crisp green salad would make this a complete and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Note: It's very hard to get fresh curry leaves in North America. You have to get it at specialty Indian stores. You can substitute a Bay leaf instead, as recommended by my Indian friend. It isn't anything like the curry powder, which is a combination of the spices used in this recipe (tumeric, ginger, corriander, cumin...etc) This soup was excellent, but very spicy. I can usually handle my heat...but this was quite hot! The recipe calls for 2 green chiles chopped up, but it doesn't say whether to include the seeds or not. So I included the seeds for one and not the other, and I think that made it extremely HOT. We had to eat it with bread...but it's still very yummy. I'll make it again, with just one chile next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedre

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this a while back, but I remember it was lots of work! The taste wasn't bad either, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Making this soup was a good mother-daughter activity, which lessened the amount of work per person considerably. I don't have a regular blender, so I used one of those stick/immersion blenders to puree the soup-- it worked fine, leaving a few little chunks in the soup, which I think adds a nice texture. Daughter (age 12) has declared this the best soup ever, in the whole wide world! It is very, very good, and worth the trouble of rounding up and preparing all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was a delightful soup. We served it as lunch with homemade flast bread. The only changes that I made was adding some lightly breaded chichen nuggets and a can of garbonzo beans. Also used ginger paste, cayanne pepper and I did not have any cilantro. Before I added the coconut milk it seemed to be spicier than I would have wanted it to be, but after adding the coconut milk it was wonderful. Served heavy cream at the table and what a success. Glad that I made a large batch. My husband and I had more for dinner. Will look forward to preparing it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is very close to the mulligatawny we get at our favorite Indian restaurant. The only changes I made were to use vegetable broth and powdered curry and cardamom, rather than fresh. Despite the long list of ingredients, with two people working, this comes together relatively quickly. Next time, I'll try it with sweet potato; otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very good. I was a little worried about it until I added the coconut milk. Then it was near perfect. I didn't have any lentils so I added chicken and sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I recommend making this recipe the day before serving, as the flavor improves dramatically the next day. I'm a newbie to Indian food and this was my first time trying to make it at home. I have little basis for comparison, but I thought the soup seemed to be missing something. Most Indian dishes I've tried have a sort of....completeness in flavor that I thought was lacking here. I was missing a certain spiciness. This may just be due to my inexperience with Indian spices, though! I added some chili powder to help boost the heat; that seemed to help some. This recipe is definitely worth making at least once, although I don't think I'll make it again until I've tried enough mulligatawny soup to know what I was missing from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States