Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent! A fragrant, filling and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Oh my gosh....completely delicious...I wanted to use up my red lentils and stuff I had around the house without shopping, so I subbed applesauce for the apple and did not add the tamarind and subbed vegetable stock for the chicken but it was still sooooooooo yummy. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Had to omit a lot of the spices since Indian markets are few and far between in Paris, but the soup was delicious. Added chicken and extra carrot. A visiting friend liked it so much she wanted the recipe, but it was hard to give since I'd had to change so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Excellent, fragrant and filling soup. Changes: I omitted the chilies and added a 1/2 tsp of ground cayenne pepper (we like hot, but not THAT hot). No tamarind unfortunately, substituted lime for lemon juice, and used light coconut milk to lighten the calories/fat. I used my easy hand mixer right in the pot. YUMMY and satisfied that Indian food craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made this last night for my parents and my fiancé, we all loved it. It served 4 of us (we like a large bowl). It seems like a lot of work at first glance but it isn't really, it's just a matter of preparing everything and then throwing it in when stated in the directions - just let it do it's thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helenbu

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this into a basic lentil soup by omitting coconut milk, apple and tamarind (though it sounds amazing) and didn't puree. Added a pinch of saffron, fiddled a bit with spices. I'll definitely come back to make this closer to recipe (though I may omit lemon and sub 2% milk for coconut milk to keep fat down).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very good! the lentils took far, far longer than 15 minutes to soften though... maybe I was supposed to use pre-cooked lentils? By the time they were done the broth had cooked down so much I had to add a lot of extra chicken broth, and much of the veggie/apple flavor had cooked out. Still, the seasonings were wonderful. Next time I'll try precooking the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I absolutely LOVE this soup. I have made it multiple times, for parties, and just for my family at home. It is always a hit! I usually make it with a bay leaf instead of the fresh curry leaves. The one time I had fresh curry leaves, I didn't read the recipe thoroughly, and I chopped them too fine to remove them from the soup. They tasted just fine in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very very yummy! I followed the recipe to the T and it was awesome! I just used fresh cummin seeds and corriander seeds to make a powder and I think that made a big difference! Thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Pretty tasty stuff - I made it healthier (although maybe not quite as satisfying...darn!) by not using coconut milk. Otherwise followed this recipe pretty closely...I really like the subtle tang of apple in this savory dish. Made my home smell divine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States