Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Sometimes a recipe comes along where you want to cry because it is so good. This is one of those recipes. The flavors were so delicious! I followed the recommendations and didn't puree the soup and I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Put as many of the spices as I had in it... Followed the recipe 75%.. I can only imagine that if I had put all that it called for - it would be fabulous! This will be my new go to Mulligatawny recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Holy Cow!!! This is absolutely fabulous!!! It tastes more like Thai Soup than mulligatawny, but it is amazing. I added a teaspoon of white pepper and omitted the curry powder and it is the best soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Pro: great flavor! Con: too thin. Solution: next time we'll double the lentils, carrot, and potato. Substitutions: we used tamarind paste instead of concentrate, dried cardamom instead of pods, vegetable broth instead of chicken, and curry powder instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Thank you for an insanely delicious soup recipe! I halved the recipe but used an entire onion, carrot, and Granny Smith apple. I only used 5 oz. of coconut milk (1 small can) for 1/2 recipe. It was so satisfying! I also used a mix of whole Masoor dhal and red split lentils. This is a keeper--very fast but soul-satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is now my absolute favorite soup!!! Great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Outstanding soup! I substituted one bay leaf for the curry leaves, since they are not available here. We also added half a diced chicken breast. Wonderful, complex flavors...this soup is not spicy hot but is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fabulous recipe for Mulligatawny Soup. For those unable to find tamarind concentrate - you aren't missing a thing. I live close to an Asian Indian store and was able to find this and all of the ingredients. Just before adding the tamarind concentrate I tasted the soup and it was fabulous. Immediately after adding the tamarind concentrate I regretted it. The concentrate masked the rich and deep flavors of the soup. When I make this again, I will either leave this out or only use 1/3 of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I live 40 miles round trip from a grocery store and a modest 1 at that...so I improvise a lot. This soup is excellent. I don't know if I have had real Mulli. soup of not..doesn't matter..this a good base soup. I have made it twice. Both with a lamb stock and added lamb meat. Don't have the fancy ingredients. 1st time no red lentils. Still great. This time lentils ( used the rest powdered, ginger cardomon etc) It was good but sill missing something..as tamarinds aren't something I have or get on short notice...I put 2 big spoonfuls of Major Grey Chutney in. Worked great. I love this recipe! So does my husband who likes mild things. Had chiles the first time( no seeds) and used cayanne as someone suggested this time. If something is missing from a recipe I can usually figure out what it needs...once again good stand alone or a base to create your own soup. Liked the chicken idea too. Might add that it is imparative to "fry" the spices. Plain Curry is best done that way to . Breaks loose the aroma and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was good, but not great. I think it definitely has potential. It came out excessively cinnamon-y when I made it, to the point where the other spices were getting lost. Looking at the recipe, it doesn't seem like an excessive amount, so it's possible I measured wrong. Also, I think adding the curry at the beginning mellows it out too much. It might be better to fry it in some oil and add it near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States