Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very disappointed in this recipe. I'm relatively new to this website and cook only a few dishes (but do those well). This was not hearty, way to thin, and not well mixed. I skipped the butter for olive oil and the cream / yogurt / milk altogether. Should I add it now? Was this the issue? I almost feel like I want to puree it in a blender, anyone else do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin F. Adler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious! Although, as some other reviewers recommended, I increased the curry to 2 teaspoons. I also added one more chicken breast. I will definitely make this easy recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Sottile-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Arnold
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I have made this often. I add 4 cloves of garlic and mustard seed to the base. Marinated chicken in fresh lime juice. At the end of the cook time I put in 1/2 block of cream cheese. Do not use the cream.delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
If I could, I would give this more stars. I made it as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I think this recipe was "handed down" from "The Joy of Cooking". why is it so hard for people to credit their actual sources, especially when it's a copyright publication. Have made this for years, and was very surprised to see it here with no attribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Most of the family loved it! My daughter thought it was too spicy, but my wife, son and I loved it. Made it with a few changes, but I am sure this is excellent as written. Changes I made were that I doubled the recipe and doubled the rice used because 1/2 cup didn't seem enough. I used about 1/2 Tbsp Yellow Curry, about 1 Tbsp Garam Masala, about 1/2 Tbsp Red Curry and about a teaspoon of Tumeric. Will definitely make again, but I will not make my change of doubling the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved it! I used 2 tsp curry powder, 1 tsp coriander, 1/4 cayenne pepper, 1/4 mustard seed. I left out the cream entirely just using chicken broth. I added a dollop of nonfat plain greek yogurt in each serving and it was the BOMB, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Only change I make is 1tbls of hot curry. My favorite soup period, for those who say ommit the heavy whipping cream for less calories are INSANE. While good without it, i would drive an hour roundtrip if I did not have the whipping cream. It's the icing on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is my favorite soup. I do double up on the veggies and curry and cut the cream in half. I also use EVOO instead of butter, but I splurge once in a while :) and use the real deal! I also sub a dollop of plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream to finish. This soup gets better so even though you will want to eat it right away let it stand a day or two and you will be amazed on how delicious it becomes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Call me crazy but I eliminated the curry. This was amazing and loved by all, several asked for the recipe. I personally like the protein combo of 1/2 bulk sausage and 1/2 chicken (6oz each) which admittedly makes it less healthy but wildly flavorful. We doubled all the veggies and rice to create a very hearty and very flavorful soup. As mentioned, I eliminated the curry completely along with the cream to save a few calories. Also tripled the thyme. Amazing hearty soup for the whole family. Flavor does develop and next day really is as good if not better. This has a long future for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States