Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have never tried nor heard of a soup like this. I'm really glad I made it, as we all enjoyed it. I made exactly as written, only I made a double batch. I think this is a soup that gets better the longer it sits. It does congeal somewhat when refrigerated, but reheats nicely with more flavor than the first time around. I served this with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' from AR and we had a delicious meal on a snowy, cold Indiana night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. As others have already posted, you can easily double the spice and use an entire apple. You can also use an immersion blender after step 1 and reduce the cream for a healthier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This soup was incredibly flavorful and delicious! I would certainly make it again. I did all just as stated, only added some extra veggies and apples. I baked a chicken in advance and chopped up the meat to use in the soup (and I also used real chicken stock as the base). We served it with sour cream instead of regular cream, since that is what we had available. I also added a dash or two of white wine vinegar in mine, since I love my soup with a bit of 'tang'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband raves about this soup! We left out the heavy cream, based on some reviews. If you like curry, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this soup at my favourite Indian restaurant, and reading this recipe sounded the closest to what I experienced there. I made the following modifications, brought it to a pot-luck at work and had people seek me out for who made it (and the recipe). So here it is! 1) I doubled the recipe, which then would call for 3 tsp of curry powder total 2) I didn’t use the yellow curry powder most people have. Instead I made my own from an Indian vindaloo recipe I make. ½ tsp each of brown mustard seed, cumin seed, black peppercorn (use mortar and pestle, or as I do, a cheap coffee grinder used only for spices) – add ½ tsp of ginger, 1 tsp of turmeric (will give the soup a nice color), 1 tsp of garam masala. My curry powder totals 4 tsp instead of 3, but I like the flavour at that intensity. For optional heat I recommend 2-4 dried red chili pepper be added to the seed/peppercorn mix when breaking them up. 3) I precut the chicken and stir fried it in a portion of the butter – makes it firmer on the exterior that way so it doesn’t break down so easily in the soup. 4) I added lemon. Most soups I’ve had like this had actual lemon in it, but I cheated and just squirted in some real lemon – amount to taste. 5) After making let cool and re-heat the following day, adding cream at last moment as per recipe. All curry based recipes are better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garth Templeman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I felt it was a little thin on the veggies and added more of everything, as well as zucchini because it was cheap/in season (note on the zucchini - wait till last to put them in! They get a bit gooey). I also added tofu instead of chicken... stick the tofu in earlier, when sauteing, or it'll taste really tofu-y . I also cut down the broth by 1/3 - I like my soup to be more stewlike. I also feel you could put in like double the rice, and next time I will. I also plan to add in potatoes and cabbage to make it more filling. I really think you can add any veggies you want and it'll be great. I'm so sick of borscht, so this is my new go-to food for when I'm dead broke. You can pack in a week's worth of food for a single person on around 30-35 bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I added some extra curry and some cheyenne pepper as well. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
delicious soup! i forgot all about the cream but don't think it's needed, when i make it again i will probably do the same. the only thing i added was some crushed pepper flakes since we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a very flavorful soup, good for when you want something a little different but still comforting. You need to use really good quality curry powder. If your grocery store has an Indian food section, get it there rather than in the regular spice aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious and easy to make. I made it for some friends and they were so impressed. Served it with toasted garlic rosemary bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States