Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
We all loved this soup! I agreed with everyone that said to add more curry. I used curry paste instead of powder and pureed the celery, onions and carrots to make a smoother soup (picky kids). I served it with a loaf French bread and it was a good, filling supper. I will make this again for sure. Only problem was there were no left-overs for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Love it. This has become a staple in our house and I've taken it to a couple "soup parties" where guests have raved about it. Only changes we've made is that I use quinoa instead of rice, and I usually make it the night after we've had a roasted chicken for dinner so I use those left overs instead of using just chicken breast. Also I typically quadruple the recipe- so that there are plenty left over to freeze and have the next week or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
In a word...awesome!! I pureed the veggies and broth after Step 1 so my veggie-phobic son would still try it; and it was a hit. I'm glad I made a double batch, because it's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I love all things curry so this was right up my alley. I did double the curry powder and before adding the rice and chicken, I pureed the apples that were floating on top. The flavor was good before but I didnt really like biting into the crunchy apples. The puree added creamyness and a sweet/tart to every bite. Last change was I used coconut milk vs heavy cream. Since its a common ingredient in many cuurries I figured it would work well and it def did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Best. Soup. Ever. Hits the spot every time, I have to at least double the recipe every time I make it or it disappears too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I loved this soup! Just made it for lunch on this cold winter day and very grateful not to have to bundle up to go to the store for ingredients. I had everything I needed. Wonderful flavor - I did double the curry. I will definitely make this soup again. jeanb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The only time I made this as written was the first time. We all adore this soup. I grate the carrots and dice the apples. I like the crunch of the apple. Also, use crisp apples like Cripps Pink or even Granny Smith as they hold the crispness. If you prefer them to blend in, buy another type and grate them as another reviewer mentioned. I also at least double the Curry powder and will add a little more Turmeric and Cumin to boot. As another reader said, it does get better after a day or two. I have also frozen this soup with fine results. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I would not have tried it if not for the unusual name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was yummy, if a bit effortful. I think my mom's chicken curry soup recipe tastes similar but requires a lot less work, so I will stick with that. But thanks anyway for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Outstanding. Don't omit anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used coconut cream/milk instead of regular cream and it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States