Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow.... we have made this soup 3 or 4 times and it's spectacular everytime. You can go light on the cream or use half and half if you want to keep the calories down too. Less cream makes very little difference in taste in my opinion. The one thing I would suggest is to consider 'heat" levels. Curry Powder is available in Mild, Medium and Hot. we have made this soup with Mild and Medium to date and both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKR
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This soup is out of this world tasty - I make it often and always as a double batch so some can be kept in the freezer. I always add a Sweet Potato - it melts in and makes for a nice hearty soup. I have never added cream and have not missed it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My family loves this soup! I usually double or triple the recipe and freeze individual servings for lunch. Instead of the 11/2 tsp of curry powder I increase to 1 tbs for just a little spice. I have also experiment alot with this recipe and use coconut oil instead of butter and coconut milk in place of cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I make this soup any chance I get, and this recipe is almost too good for words other than, "Mmmmm..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was an excellent base but not spicy enough for my palette. I made the recipe as written then added a few more spices. When I added the flour and curry, I also added Turmeric and a dash of nutmeg. Toward the end of cooking I added a little ground coriander seed, a little cayenne and some Garam Masala. It was perfect and soul satisfying. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orion the Hunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I love this recipe and it's become somewhat of a staple in our house. Because we eat low carb, I leave out the flour and rice. I usually end up adding more of the meat and veggies. Once I did accidentally use cayenne pepper instead of the red curry powder I have. While the first bite was quite a shock, it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It was spicy, but not too bad; and the taste was actually still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
GREAT Recipe!!! I've made it seriously at least every week!! Even the kids like it!! I've actually tweaked it by omitting the heavy cream...and I like my soup not as thick so I cook the rice separately and pour broth over rice or else the rice in the soup will make it too thick? My kids didn't really like the apples in it so I actually chop up some small potatoes instead to give it more texture substance...Love the flavor of the curry...YUM. I usually end of tripling this recipe b/c I can eat it for a couple of days in a role! YUM!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is my favorite chicken soup recipe of all time. Of course, I tweak it a little bit, to suit my taste. I add garlic, more curry powder, and my favorite vegetables. I also leave out the heavy cream, so it becomes a really healthy, really low calorie meal...my favorite diet meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
It was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlingeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I doubled the chicken. I used an entire huge onion and an entire huge apple. I probably used less cream, I just added it til it tasted rich enough. I would use more curry powder in the future but that might be because I added more onion/apple/chicken. This is easy to play around with, a good solid chicken soup with just enough exotic features to make it not just "got a cold chicken soup". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States