Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing!!! Doubled the curry amount & used a can of evap milk at the end when I realized we were out of milk. Doubled it after reading reviews, you might even want to triple it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Omg! In anticipation of a busy day tomorrow, I made this soup this evening with the idea of heating it up for the fam tomorrow. I was just going to have a taste and ended up eating half of it! Not sure it's going to be around for dinner tomorrow! Doubled the curry and apple. Did not add salt. Added uncooked chicken breast with broth. Only issue was that I added brown rice late in the game and couldn't wait around for it to cook. Next time will add with the broth. Divine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious soup. I made the recipe exactly how it was written and it turned out awesome. The only thing is I forgot to add the heavey cream when serving. We certainly didn't miss it and for those calorie counters out there it is a great way to cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Posein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I am a chef at an upscale grocery store. I prepare a "from scratch" soup every day that is featured on our soup bar. I made this soup today with a minor adjustment. I added freshly ground ginger, 1 can of "lite" coconut milk, and 1 can coconut milk. Tomorrow, I will add the heavy cream. This soup is a bit spicy (not sure if it was the curry I used in combination with the fresh ginger). Having said that, the flavor profile was fantastic and I can't wait to taste it in the morning(I always make my featured soup a day in advance so that the flavors have a chance to marry and develop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My favorite soup of all time! The only change I'd suggest is I double the amount of broth, otherwise I find my rice soaks up all the liquid and it turns out more like stew than soup. And a little extra curry never hurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love Indian flavours, and found this dish very tasty, wished had made double batch, but will certainly do that next time. Threw in some coriander just to make the flavours pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lib H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I first made this soup about 5 years ago and it has been a staple ever since. I use 2% milk at the end instead of cream but have forgotten it a few times and it is still good. I add more rice, about 1/2 a cup. VERY GOOD RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Soup is one of my favorite things to make. My daughter was over one day and we had this soup, and she said it was the best she's ever tasted! I used more curry also...ya 2 Tbls. and used the whole apple. I also take half the soup and blend it a bit and then stir it back in with the rest. I like the rich thickness that step makes. Oh, and I keep forgetting to add the cream at the end. Delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was awesome!! I made a couple little changes and kinda turned it into a stew. But I stayed with all the same flavors. I cooked the chicken but not through, after coating it with a flour mixture that had garlic powder, poultry seasoning and a dash of curry powder in it. The flour from the dusting thickened the soup, as well. I read of review that said this soup gets better with time... I wish I had thought ahead and doubled the recipe!! That's a great idea, I second the suggestion strongly!! My daughter absolutely loved it, as well and she's not a big fan of heat or spices. It really is a lovely soup or stew, depending on how you make it. Either way it's definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States