Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is my favorite soup. I do double up on the veggies and curry and cut the cream in half. I also use EVOO instead of butter, but I splurge once in a while :) and use the real deal! I also sub a dollop of plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream to finish. This soup gets better so even though you will want to eat it right away let it stand a day or two and you will be amazed on how delicious it becomes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Call me crazy but I eliminated the curry. This was amazing and loved by all, several asked for the recipe. I personally like the protein combo of 1/2 bulk sausage and 1/2 chicken (6oz each) which admittedly makes it less healthy but wildly flavorful. We doubled all the veggies and rice to create a very hearty and very flavorful soup. As mentioned, I eliminated the curry completely along with the cream to save a few calories. Also tripled the thyme. Amazing hearty soup for the whole family. Flavor does develop and next day really is as good if not better. This has a long future for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Haff Muchnok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for company without trying it first due to the nearly unanimous 5-star rating and was not disappointed. Everyone loved it! After reading the comments, I doubled the curry powder and used half and half with great results. Also, after I added the rice and apples, I transferred it to a crock pot and kept in on low for a couple of hours, which worked fine. This will definitely be in heavy rotation at our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I didn't change that much because it didn't need it. The changes I made were minor and in no way compromised this dish. I used wild rice instead of white rice and half and half instead of cream. The minute you start adding other ingredients and eliminating others,it no longer becomes Mulligatawny Soup. This a favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Doubled recipe, my half and half was sour, so I skipped it and it was delicious without cream. I did take some soup and puree it and add it back to thicken. Added a few extra mushrooms and spinach. Used half brown and half white rice. Next time, I would increase the veggie to chicken ratio. Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Outstanding. Of course it tastes better with homemade chicken broth. I also used two apples and added reduced fat coconut milk instead of cream. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious! Don't let the picture deter you from trying it...it did not look particularly appetizing to me; however, I will be making this again! Perfect for the workweek or for dinner at home! Give it a try--you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing!!! Doubled the curry amount & used a can of evap milk at the end when I realized we were out of milk. Doubled it after reading reviews, you might even want to triple it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Omg! In anticipation of a busy day tomorrow, I made this soup this evening with the idea of heating it up for the fam tomorrow. I was just going to have a taste and ended up eating half of it! Not sure it's going to be around for dinner tomorrow! Doubled the curry and apple. Did not add salt. Added uncooked chicken breast with broth. Only issue was that I added brown rice late in the game and couldn't wait around for it to cook. Next time will add with the broth. Divine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious soup. I made the recipe exactly how it was written and it turned out awesome. The only thing is I forgot to add the heavey cream when serving. We certainly didn't miss it and for those calorie counters out there it is a great way to cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Posein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 839) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States