Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We loved it. I did follow others' suggestions and doubled the curry. Actually doubled the entire recipe too. (But DO double the curry) I used homemade chicken stock. My husband thought it was REALLY good. He interrupted me to tell me how much he loved it. Good enough for me! I am SO making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I found this better than I expected. I too made some changes out of necessity on what I had at the time or because I didn't want to waste something. I used 1 cup each of carrots, celery and onions. I had a leek getting old so I used about a third of that. I doubled the curry out of suggestions from the other reviewers. I used one whole granny smith apple. To my surprise I like the small chunks of apple in this recipe and wished I had more apple in there. Pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My chicken was dark meat because that is what I had. Its good without the cream, but I liked it with cream even better. Its a keeper and if I had a restaurant this one would be on the menu or on the soup bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have never tried nor heard of a soup like this. I'm really glad I made it, as we all enjoyed it. I made exactly as written, only I made a double batch. I think this is a soup that gets better the longer it sits. It does congeal somewhat when refrigerated, but reheats nicely with more flavor than the first time around. I served this with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' from AR and we had a delicious meal on a snowy, cold Indiana night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. As others have already posted, you can easily double the spice and use an entire apple. You can also use an immersion blender after step 1 and reduce the cream for a healthier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This soup was incredibly flavorful and delicious! I would certainly make it again. I did all just as stated, only added some extra veggies and apples. I baked a chicken in advance and chopped up the meat to use in the soup (and I also used real chicken stock as the base). We served it with sour cream instead of regular cream, since that is what we had available. I also added a dash or two of white wine vinegar in mine, since I love my soup with a bit of 'tang'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband raves about this soup! We left out the heavy cream, based on some reviews. If you like curry, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this soup at my favourite Indian restaurant, and reading this recipe sounded the closest to what I experienced there. I made the following modifications, brought it to a pot-luck at work and had people seek me out for who made it (and the recipe). So here it is! 1) I doubled the recipe, which then would call for 3 tsp of curry powder total 2) I didn’t use the yellow curry powder most people have. Instead I made my own from an Indian vindaloo recipe I make. ½ tsp each of brown mustard seed, cumin seed, black peppercorn (use mortar and pestle, or as I do, a cheap coffee grinder used only for spices) – add ½ tsp of ginger, 1 tsp of turmeric (will give the soup a nice color), 1 tsp of garam masala. My curry powder totals 4 tsp instead of 3, but I like the flavour at that intensity. For optional heat I recommend 2-4 dried red chili pepper be added to the seed/peppercorn mix when breaking them up. 3) I precut the chicken and stir fried it in a portion of the butter – makes it firmer on the exterior that way so it doesn’t break down so easily in the soup. 4) I added lemon. Most soups I’ve had like this had actual lemon in it, but I cheated and just squirted in some real lemon – amount to taste. 5) After making let cool and re-heat the following day, adding cream at last moment as per recipe. All curry based recipes are better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I felt it was a little thin on the veggies and added more of everything, as well as zucchini because it was cheap/in season (note on the zucchini - wait till last to put them in! They get a bit gooey). I also added tofu instead of chicken... stick the tofu in earlier, when sauteing, or it'll taste really tofu-y . I also cut down the broth by 1/3 - I like my soup to be more stewlike. I also feel you could put in like double the rice, and next time I will. I also plan to add in potatoes and cabbage to make it more filling. I really think you can add any veggies you want and it'll be great. I'm so sick of borscht, so this is my new go-to food for when I'm dead broke. You can pack in a week's worth of food for a single person on around 30-35 bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I added some extra curry and some cheyenne pepper as well. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
delicious soup! i forgot all about the cream but don't think it's needed, when i make it again i will probably do the same. the only thing i added was some crushed pepper flakes since we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States