Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for company without trying it first due to the nearly unanimous 5-star rating and was not disappointed. Everyone loved it! After reading the comments, I doubled the curry powder and used half and half with great results. Also, after I added the rice and apples, I transferred it to a crock pot and kept in on low for a couple of hours, which worked fine. This will definitely be in heavy rotation at our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I didn't change that much because it didn't need it. The changes I made were minor and in no way compromised this dish. I used wild rice instead of white rice and half and half instead of cream. The minute you start adding other ingredients and eliminating others,it no longer becomes Mulligatawny Soup. This a favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Doubled recipe, my half and half was sour, so I skipped it and it was delicious without cream. I did take some soup and puree it and add it back to thicken. Added a few extra mushrooms and spinach. Used half brown and half white rice. Next time, I would increase the veggie to chicken ratio. Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Outstanding. Of course it tastes better with homemade chicken broth. I also used two apples and added reduced fat coconut milk instead of cream. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious! Don't let the picture deter you from trying it...it did not look particularly appetizing to me; however, I will be making this again! Perfect for the workweek or for dinner at home! Give it a try--you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing!!! Doubled the curry amount & used a can of evap milk at the end when I realized we were out of milk. Doubled it after reading reviews, you might even want to triple it, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Omg! In anticipation of a busy day tomorrow, I made this soup this evening with the idea of heating it up for the fam tomorrow. I was just going to have a taste and ended up eating half of it! Not sure it's going to be around for dinner tomorrow! Doubled the curry and apple. Did not add salt. Added uncooked chicken breast with broth. Only issue was that I added brown rice late in the game and couldn't wait around for it to cook. Next time will add with the broth. Divine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious soup. I made the recipe exactly how it was written and it turned out awesome. The only thing is I forgot to add the heavey cream when serving. We certainly didn't miss it and for those calorie counters out there it is a great way to cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Posein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I am a chef at an upscale grocery store. I prepare a "from scratch" soup every day that is featured on our soup bar. I made this soup today with a minor adjustment. I added freshly ground ginger, 1 can of "lite" coconut milk, and 1 can coconut milk. Tomorrow, I will add the heavy cream. This soup is a bit spicy (not sure if it was the curry I used in combination with the fresh ginger). Having said that, the flavor profile was fantastic and I can't wait to taste it in the morning(I always make my featured soup a day in advance so that the flavors have a chance to marry and develop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My favorite soup of all time! The only change I'd suggest is I double the amount of broth, otherwise I find my rice soaks up all the liquid and it turns out more like stew than soup. And a little extra curry never hurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States