Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite soup recipes from this site. The curry is not overpowering at all but is very subtle in the final product. It's hearty, filling, inexpensive and easy to make. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious! My husband raved about it and he sort of likes everything but rarely loves anything and this one did it! Based on other reviews I did increase the amount of curry and tossed in a little bit of cayenne. I had to increase the broth towards the end b/c it had boiled away a fair bit and was a little thicker than we like. I omitted the cream b/c it was great w/o it and I wanted to reduce fat. I also used half butter and half olive oil. I added the raw chicken right after the celery and carrots to cook it slightly before adding the broth. This gave the chicken a nice flavour. I also grated the apple and used almost a whole one (granny smith) rather than putting in chunks on advice of another reviewer. Thanks for a great recipe. We'll make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I was in the midst of making ginger-curry roasted butternut squash soup but it was tasting bland. Then I thought of adding some apple and chicken and it reminded me of Mulligatawny Soup. What I ended up with was a very similar variation to this soup with the only different ingredient being the squash. It turned out to be delicious. I skipped the thyme and doubled the apple. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was alright. We like Indian cuisine but hadn’t eaten this particular soup. It was not quite what we were expecting but in fairness to this recipe, we changed some things based on reviewer suggestions. If made again, we would stick closer to the version as written to better know if Mulligatawny Soup could be made more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this last night and was awesome..will up the Curry next time so it will have a little more kick.. also will double the recipe as there was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great! Thank you! Didn't add celery and served without the cream (since didn't have any on hand). The rice I used, although basmati, ended up expanding over the next 24 hours and the soup became more like a meal. Next time I will use different rice, or less of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I printed this for my husband to make using our leftover turkey and turkey broth. He is not a cook by nature, but he had no problem with this. We doubled it and used brown rice instead of white. We also did not add the heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I doubled recipe added 8 oz pkg of sliced mushrooms and 1 potatoe used 2 tsp of flour and added 1 more tsp of curry powder. I also pureed the apples and next time may use some coconut milk. I added the rice to bowls before serving and grated some fresh ginger for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Yum! Doubled it, used 3 tablespoonsful of curry powder, and used evaporated skim milk in place of cream. Awesome. Husband said I could make this again any time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is quite possibly the BEST. SOUP. I. EVER. MADE. Double or triple the recipe if you make it. This was not 6 servings with the amount that people wanted to eat. More like 3 servings. The only things I did differently were I bought a rotisserie chicken and cut up some for the soup instead of putting in raw chicken. I also added a splash of hot sauce at the end to give it a little more heat. I had an excellent bottle of gourmet ginger-mango hot sauce that was perfect for this soup but any kind would do if you want it hotter. DO NOT omit the apple even though it sounds like it might not be good, it IS!!! EXCELLENT RECIPE, thank you so much for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States