Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy Bevan
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great my husband went crazy for this soup. Wonderful flavor, very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Bevan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Our family has made this recipe for years; it is a lovely soup and comes from Joy of Cooking (an old version from late 70's/early 80's the newer one has a different one that's more complicated and not as good). Tips: Use light coconut milk instead of heavy cream--really helps the taste and reduces calories. Butter can be cut in half. The apple should be on the tart side. I use 2 t of (sweet) curry called for in the original recipe and it does not overpower-- try the 1.5 t and decide what best matches your tastes. Also, the Joy of Cooking recipe calls for cooked rice - it is not specified here. White rice could probably be added raw and it will cook but I prefer brown so I add cooked brown rice. I also add extra carrot just because I like it that way. Taste is great and agree with other reviewers that it gets even better after a day or so. One of our favorite and easiest soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was great! My only complaint is the portion sizes are small. I made one recipe and it barely made 4 servings. I doubled the curry and added a little cinnamon and green curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
We LOVE this soup, with a few variations. I read the reviews and drew on my own cooking experience and made a couple of alterations to vamp up the flavor. First of all, although the recipe just says "white rice", I use basmati. In my opinion, it's one of the best, and it suits the recipe. I used a little more curry than called for, added garam masala (new ingredient for me, but oh my, it's a new favorite). I also add more chicken broth and a bit of chicken base (or bullion) to have more of the soup. Sorry for no specifics on additions, I just taste and add more if needed. Oh yeah, cut the apples up small small, but DONT leave em out. Serve with fresh warm naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Amazingly easy. Yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very disappointed in this recipe. I'm relatively new to this website and cook only a few dishes (but do those well). This was not hearty, way to thin, and not well mixed. I skipped the butter for olive oil and the cream / yogurt / milk altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin F. Adler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious! Although, as some other reviewers recommended, I increased the curry to 2 teaspoons. I also added one more chicken breast. I will definitely make this easy recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Sottile-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Arnold
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I have made this often. I add 4 cloves of garlic and mustard seed to the base. Marinated chicken in fresh lime juice. At the end of the cook time I put in 1/2 block of cream cheese. Do not use the cream.delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
If I could, I would give this more stars. I made it as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I think this recipe was "handed down" from "The Joy of Cooking". why is it so hard for people to credit their actual sources, especially when it's a copyright publication. Have made this for years, and was very surprised to see it here with no attribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States