Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is my first pie! I realized a few weeks ago that we had a mulberry tree in the backyard. This was the best recipe I found on any site for a mulberry pie. My husband disagrees, but I think the sugar could have been cut back. I wish I had listened to the reviews. The berry is tart, so I thought it needed all the sugar. Also, I took the stems off, mostly by snipping them off with my fingernail. It's time consuming but worth it I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I've read the reviews - we moved into a new house and are now the proud owners of a mulberry tree. But I'm not sure what you're referring to by "remove the stems" - do you mean the stems that come out or is there a way to remove the entire stem? Everytime I try, it disintegrates...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was absolutely PERFECT!! My kids have been eating the mulberries off of our mulberry tree for years and I just thought this year we'd try to make a pie out of them. I found this recipe and we made it pretty much exactly the way it said and everyone LOVED it!! We ate it warm with Breyer's Homemade Vanilla icecream. It was spectacular!! We did not take the stems off, but I think when I make this for our 4th of July get together I'm going to spend the extra time removing them. The other reviewer was right the stems do soften when cooked, but it's mind over matter when you see them in the pie. There were a few that I picked out and everybody said they would rather not have eaten them. Other wise, thanks for helping me make this amazing pie for the first time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I just made this today, and it was great. I too cut back the suager to 1 cup and used 2/3 cup of flour. I did not put the pie in the fridge or use milk (cuz I forgot about that part) and this is delicious!! I used my own crust too. Oh, and I did not remove the stems!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I rated this 5 stars based on the reaction of my family. They all really liked it and I thought it was really good, but it is way too sweet for me. Next time I will reduce the sugar. I also increased the flour to 1/2 cup which was a mistake, I should have only increased it to 1/3 cup. Thanks for the recipe, I love having a use for all those pesky mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe turned out pretty good, my husband really liked it too! I made my own pie crust. I used just slightly less than a cup of sugar and just slightly more than 1/4 cup flour for the filling. I let it cool about 2 hours. It wasn't runny at all and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
After reading a bunch of the reviews, I tried this recipe. It's pretty good...didn't care for the stems, tho'...I made it with only 3/4 cups of sugar, and since I didn't have any other spices, I used a commercially-made "apple pie spice"...think next time I will cut off the stems, use a full level cup of sugar, and the juice from 1/2 of a lemon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very Good! It is runny. I took a glass jar and I tipped the pie up a bit and let the juice pour into the jar. I used the extra juice to put into my Ice Cream! I am going to use less sugar next time as well! This is so good! I love Mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. We have two mulberry trees and used the fresh mulberries to make a pie. It was the best one my kids ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was great. I about doubled the filling though, I like a lot of fruit. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon, too. This is so amazing still warm with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States