Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very Good! It is runny. I took a glass jar and I tipped the pie up a bit and let the juice pour into the jar. I used the extra juice to put into my Ice Cream! I am going to use less sugar next time as well! This is so good! I love Mulberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. We have two mulberry trees and used the fresh mulberries to make a pie. It was the best one my kids ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was great. I about doubled the filling though, I like a lot of fruit. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon, too. This is so amazing still warm with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My sweet little 5 year old informed me that he was going to pick mulberries so I could make a pie. Well, we only had 2 cups worth, so I added 1 cup chopped strawberries. I used 1/2 cup flour, 3/4 cup sugar, and maybe 1/4 tsp chinese five spice. I also cooked at 350 for 45 minutes. Also used Pilsbury crusts, just unroll and use. My only complaint is that I would have liked more filling, so will probably use 5 cups of fruit next time. Good recipe for my first Mulberry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I just made this pie and served it to my husband and parents-in-law, and they loved it (and my mother-in-law is not one to dish out the praises when it comes to other people's cooking)! So, it was a big hit! I did use some of the comments made by other users. My mulberries were very juicy, so I added extra flour, and I also added a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, and allspice as suggested by Pixilix. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup, however I think I would prefer it just a little bit sweeter, so will up the amount to 3/4 cup of sugar next time. I also used a tart pastry crust using flour, butter and egg yolk, which came out just wonderfully -- tasty and flaky, and beautifully golden brown -- and brushed the top of the crust with milk and sprinkled it with raw cane sugar. Tasty and pretty! I will definitely be making this pie again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This is the BEST pie that my husband has ever had. I altered the receipe a bit based on everyone's comments. I used 2/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup flour, it made an incredible pie. I let it cool for about 2 hours and it was only a little runny/juice, but my husband thought it was perfect. Thank you Anna I now have a recipe for all those mulberries on our tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This is a great recipe -- thanks! We have several mulberry trees and I'm trying different recipes -- this is the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I LOOOOOve Mulberry pie! And yes, you can leave the stems on, they soften when baked & if you didn't know otherwise you problably wouldn't notice them. Here's some things I changed that I think enhanced the recipe: I added a little extra flour (between 1/4 - 1/2 cup total), less sugar (used only one cup and will next time probably use 2/3 - 3/4 cup only), and added a dash of cinamon, nutmeg, allspice, clove, altogether totalling about a heaping half teaspoon. The result was pretty good, and I will use this recipe again, only with less sugar :) Thank you for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
we have 3 trees full of mulberries .... my family loved the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I made this recipe using tapioca instead of the flour - it came out very good :-) --the hardest part of making this pie is removing all the stems off the mulberries! Is it possible to make this pie and leave the stems on??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States