Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Mulberry Pie is avery nostalgic treat since mulberries are becoming harder to find in our area. (Isn't it interesting when a recipe earns 5-stars "But, I changed everything!")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! I had lots of mulberries my son wanted me to make something with. I made 11 tarts in muffins cups. I halved the flour & sugar, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and left out the butter & milk since I used a strusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Very good pie. althought i did double the amount of filling for the pie...3cups just woulda been way to thin for me and my fam......I was amazed that i could leave the stems and not even know they were there.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beethoven1798

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
i am going to try this pie the way BethyPooh made it, our mulberries are really sweet and juicy. but insteat of a pastry top i am going for a crumb topping, less the butter in the pie, i think. my husband hacks at any pie, pastry, crumb, or no topping, so it will get eaten no matter how it looks. looks like a keeper to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I didnt add the butter until I put a crust on it, brushing it over top (never fail pie crust II). Then sprinkled lightly cinnamon sugar. It was wonderful!!! I had no problems with runniness! At all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. We have a farm lane that is lined with mulberry trees. The kids wanted to pick them, so I pulled up this recipe. Very yummy! I did not change the ingredients, but next time I might add some cinnamon. Mulberry's are kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historyreader

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe, went light on the sugar, and used a layer of almond paste on the bottom. Great with ice cream! I followed my own advice, but still had liquid to drain off; minor inconvenience. Someone asked about stems - I throw mine in the freezer until I want to bake, then clip them with cuticle sissors as I measure them out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
WOW!!! For all these years these have gone to waste and then.... GREAT pie! Unbelieveable, those stems just disappear. One would not believe that they were left on! As far as harvesting the fruit, I simply spread a couple of sheets on the ground and shook the branches. That may account for the stems "disappearing", in that ONLY the ripe seeds fall from the tree! Great PIE! Served with ice cream, WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is my first pie! I realized a few weeks ago that we had a mulberry tree in the backyard. This was the best recipe I found on any site for a mulberry pie. My husband disagrees, but I think the sugar could have been cut back. I wish I had listened to the reviews. The berry is tart, so I thought it needed all the sugar. Also, I took the stems off, mostly by snipping them off with my fingernail. It's time consuming but worth it I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I've read the reviews - we moved into a new house and are now the proud owners of a mulberry tree. But I'm not sure what you're referring to by "remove the stems" - do you mean the stems that come out or is there a way to remove the entire stem? Everytime I try, it disintegrates...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States