Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very simple and nice. I cut way down on the sugar and skipped the milk and butter. I used a Trader Joe's crust because those don't contain animal fat. Next time I will try using more mulberries, maybe 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Just moved to our new home and so happy to find we have a Mulberry Tree! My grandaughters and I made this pie from the recipe given...sub tapioca for flour... and sprinkling a bit of sugar over the crust aftr brushing it w the milk... This is the first pie any of us have EVER baked! We got rave reviews! Baked 2 pies last night with a tad less sugar... It's a hit! No one complained about the stems... It is great with Cherry ice cream! PS>>> LOL... I'm actually getting requests from people at work for this pie! Keep the Mulberries comin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The best pie ever!!!! Believe it or not...the mulberries are a wonderful fruit for a pie, not too sweet or tart, excellent flavor and concistancy. I am a pie connoisseur and this is on the top of the list. Made it for both sides of the family for Thanksgiving and it was gone in minutes. I put about 3/4 c. sugar and was perfect. The second time I made it, I only had frozen white mulberries and put about 1/4 c. frozen blackberries (mainly to add color) on top of them and followed the recipe. MOST AMAZING PIE!!!!!! Will definatly make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
love love love the recipe. this is the first fruit pie that i make that turn out not runny and it's nice since it used up all my frozen mulberry. i reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and perfect for me but my husband would like it to be a little sweeter. for the pie crust i also use the one from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules Lynk
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe, and my husband thought it was the best pie he's ever had! I made this for a family reunion and the elder generation especially raved about it, said they couldn't remember when they'd last had mulberry pie. That led to lots of stories about their childhood mulberry picking days, and made the pie even more awesome! I'm so glad I finally used the berries that grow on our trees instead of just letting the birds eat them all; I was really missing out on a good thing! I recommend this recipe, but I did snip off the stems with a scissors, and I added about 1 extra cup of berries and just a tad more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very yummy! Ice cream totally completed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Delicious! My wife used 3C mulberries the first time; this time we're using 6C mulberries. Also followed the advice on 1C sugar and 2/3C flour, no milk, and straight into the oven. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe. I decided to make this on the spur of the moment. We only had 1 frozen crust and no flour. So I used the Streusel topping from the Bisquick coffee cake recipe, and used Bisquick in place of the flour. It was not the least bit runny, and the flavor was fantastic. The topping did get a little dark, but will adjust the baking time next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
5 out of 5 when the following modifications were done... (I have not tried the exact recipe...) I modified this recipe into a mulberry rubarb pie (what I had growing in my yard)! The rubarb adds a nice tang and reduces the sweetness a bit. I reduced the sugar to 3/4-1cup, flour increased to 1/3-1/2cup... Approx 2 3/4- 3 cup mulberry and about 1/2cup rubarb (one good sized stalk)... DELICIOUS! Not runny... Amazing!!!... First ever pie-making attempt gone VERY VERY right! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I wish I had read the reviews first! We lost our internet shortly after I printed out the recipe and so the pie came out very sweet and runny. It was still tasty but we only managed to eat a few slivers. Once I get around to harvesting some of the mulberry trees around our apartment building, I'll try again taking into account the comments of others. By the way, why aren't mulberries a more popular berry? I think they are even tastier than blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States