Mulberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This recipe is fantastic !! I made it for a pot luck and received compliments. 4 cups mulberries to 1 cup sugar was good for us. For the top crust, I coated with egg yolk and turbinado sugar. Will definately make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Same recipe as I use, except I add a tsp. of lemon juice and a touch of cinnamon. Umnnnn! Neighbors and friends say it is the best pie they have ever tasted. Can't wait each year for the first ripened berries, so we can enjoy and share. Also, I use a canola oil pie crust recipe that is very easy and it makes this superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Easy recipe that is easy to customize. I added a 1/4 cup of ground flax seed instead of adding the extra flour that some recommended. Used more mulberries than what the recipe called for. Also used frozen mulberries. Took a little longer to cook than the recipe said, maybe because the mulberries were still mostly frozen when I put the pie in the oven. Used the amount of sugar as listed in recipe, good amount, but could use a little less sugar if pairing with ice cream. Milk on top made the crust too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I actually only had two cups of mulberries, so I added a cup of raspberries. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, used 2 Tbsp of tapioca and 1 Tbsp of flour for thickening. I added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp of freshly grated nutmeg to the berries, and I baked it for an hour at 350° after the first 15 min at 400°. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I was not actually expecting anything to come up when I decided to search for mulberry recipes, especially a recipe like this! I made it to suprise my parents, and it was a great sucess! Mom called it awesome, Dad called it excellent, and said it is one of his favorite pies. Great comments for just about the most affordable berry pie you could possibly make! I one-and-a-halved the filling to make a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very simple and nice. I cut way down on the sugar and skipped the milk and butter. I used a Trader Joe's crust because those don't contain animal fat. Next time I will try using more mulberries, maybe 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Just moved to our new home and so happy to find we have a Mulberry Tree! My grandaughters and I made this pie from the recipe given...sub tapioca for flour... and sprinkling a bit of sugar over the crust aftr brushing it w the milk... This is the first pie any of us have EVER baked! We got rave reviews! Baked 2 pies last night with a tad less sugar... It's a hit! No one complained about the stems... It is great with Cherry ice cream! PS>>> LOL... I'm actually getting requests from people at work for this pie! Keep the Mulberries comin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The best pie ever!!!! Believe it or not...the mulberries are a wonderful fruit for a pie, not too sweet or tart, excellent flavor and concistancy. I am a pie connoisseur and this is on the top of the list. Made it for both sides of the family for Thanksgiving and it was gone in minutes. I put about 3/4 c. sugar and was perfect. The second time I made it, I only had frozen white mulberries and put about 1/4 c. frozen blackberries (mainly to add color) on top of them and followed the recipe. MOST AMAZING PIE!!!!!! Will definatly make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
love love love the recipe. this is the first fruit pie that i make that turn out not runny and it's nice since it used up all my frozen mulberry. i reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and perfect for me but my husband would like it to be a little sweeter. for the pie crust i also use the one from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules Lynk
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe, and my husband thought it was the best pie he's ever had! I made this for a family reunion and the elder generation especially raved about it, said they couldn't remember when they'd last had mulberry pie. That led to lots of stories about their childhood mulberry picking days, and made the pie even more awesome! I'm so glad I finally used the berries that grow on our trees instead of just letting the birds eat them all; I was really missing out on a good thing! I recommend this recipe, but I did snip off the stems with a scissors, and I added about 1 extra cup of berries and just a tad more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States