Mulberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Yummy! After reading some of the other reviews, I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, and instead of applesauce I used 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt plus the 1/2 cup of sour cream. I used a full cup of mulberries and sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar before baking. I also just greased the muffin pan and didn't use muffin cups at all. My husband couldn't eat just one, so I had to make another batch (these were supposed to be for breakfast tomorrow!) I made 3 dozen tonight so I would use the mulberries that we picked, and I am planning on freezing some for later. Great muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These had a very different texture from most muffins - not bad, just lighter and more bread-like - and they are really difficult to remove from the paper. The original recipe yielded 23 mini muffins and 2 full-sized ones, which was way more than I counted on, and it took 20 minutes for both bathces to be slightly overdone. I would definitely make these again, but I wouldn't use paper liners and I would bake them for much less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
They didn't last long! For some reason, mine stuck to the paper cups too, but the 3 that I made without the cups came out of the pan wonderfully (I didn't have enough cups). I used blueberry yogart instead of sour cream and apple butter instead of apple sauce, and vanilla. I put in some almonds just to get that almond taste. I also used Splenda and egg subsitute. It was all good! Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Pretty Good. Only needed to bake mine for 17 minutes-very soft inside. Could use some sort of tang like cherries or a crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon, instead of sour cream I used fat free vanilla yogurt and I used 3/4-1 cup of mulberries. In addition I used a hand held mixer to add the berries so they would be slightly crushed in smaller pieces. The muffins were a little dense and not sweet enough for me. I think an additional 1/4 cup of white sugar would add sweetness. I also think that with the adjustments I made to the recipe it would be better as a sweet bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Pretty good, a bit dry though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These were very good. I used vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream, because that was what I had on hand. I also doubled the amount of berries. I found that I liked the muffins better after a day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tim@Shenandoah
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Mulberries are very tasty. I don't understand why the birds and deer don't completely de-nude the trees of their fruit. Well, more for me. :-) I substituted the sour cream and skim milk with additional whole milk and apple sauce. I made one batch with a white sugar/butter/flour crumb topping and split the recipe sugar using 1/2 white sugar 1/2 dark brown sugar. Very tasty either way, as the original recipe, or with just about any alterations you care to make to your liking. Simple to make, fun to eat. The only problem I had was that the muffins stuck to the paper cups, but I don't think that had anything to do with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim@Shenandoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Really good recipe. Quick and easy. Tender and moist. The almond extract provides just the right touch. Sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I added an extra 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of mulberries, but that was the only change. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States