Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. It was so economical and such a comfort food. As per other reviews, I added 1 tsp garam masala to the lentils just before I stirred in the rice. I also sprinkled 1/2 tsp cumin seeds and a few dashes of cinnamon onto the onions as they fried / caramelized. Serving this with yogurt was a must. We used greek yogurt, and it was amazing. The tang of the yogurt with the sweetness of the caramelized onions and cinnamon went so well with the hearty lentil and rice mixture. I fried one large yellow onion, and that seemed to be enough. Next time, I will chop the onions instead of slice them into rings because the rings were difficult to incorporate into the lentil rice mixture. I will absolutely make this again. (I also made homemade whole wheat pitas to go with this dish - they were the perfect for this meal. Used a mixture of whole wheat and AP flour, 2:1 for whatever recipe you use.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I am American and don't have a particularly adventurous palate, but my husband and I loved this dish. Next time I make it, I will cover the lentils while they cook. Too much water evaporated, resulting in a little scorching on the bottom. We didn't have any yogurt, which other reviewers recommended, so we ate it with sour cream, which was delicious. I chopped the onion instead of slicing it, as one reviewer suggested, and I'm glad I did. Next time I will cook more onions; they were so good. My husband cooked them with a little paprika and garlic salt. Next time I will serve this with some kind of flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very yummy! I would also suggest adding just a dollop of plain yogurt when serving to give it just a little tang. Other than this this recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My husband is Lebanese and this is a staple in our house. The kids love it. I don't prepare using the garlic powder or cumin but sometimes I do add allspice. We serve this with a yogurt sauce consisting of plain yogurt, crushed garlic and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
To have a really authentic taste, consider these two notes: 1- Saute one onion untel soft and translucent in the pot then add the liquid with the lentils but, DON'T ADD SALT before the lentils are soft, then continue as per above. 2- Saute the other two onions in a skillet separately until they are DEEP GOLDEN AND CRISPY, the onions will taste sweeter and more interesting this way. Set aside until they are cooler. Garnish the mujaddara with it and enjoy. For those who felt it was a bit dry, Mujaddara is supposed to be eaten along side a fresh green salad or yogurt. One more thing, consider a bit of all spice and cinnamon along with the cumin to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
A bit bland as the recipe reads, but with a few seasoning changes, it was fantastic! Here's what I did to make it tasty: - vegetable stock instead of water - 3 onions caramelized until dark golden brown - cumin added to onions instead of lentils to toast - tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, 3 cloves added to lentil water - lots of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Loved it! Easy and savoury. Did add a little curry as mentioned in another review and will next time try a dallop of yogurt but it was wonderful on it's own! Definitely going to be a regular...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leggett
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My husband is Arab and this tastes very much like how his family makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Added double all spices and a hearty dash of allspice, cilantro, and a few red pepper flakes. Served with roti and vegetable vindaloo! Sooo fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Came out great but a little too salty. I added a little allspice and I would highly recommend sauteing the onions for longer - until they turn brown preferably. it takes around 30 min but the taste is incomparable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States