Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
To have a really authentic taste, consider these two notes: 1- Saute one onion untel soft and translucent in the pot then add the liquid with the lentils but, DON'T ADD SALT before the lentils are soft, then continue as per above. 2- Saute the other two onions in a skillet separately until they are DEEP GOLDEN AND CRISPY, the onions will taste sweeter and more interesting this way. Set aside until they are cooler. Garnish the mujaddara with it and enjoy. For those who felt it was a bit dry, Mujaddara is supposed to be eaten along side a fresh green salad or yogurt. One more thing, consider a bit of all spice and cinnamon along with the cumin to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My husband is Lebanese and this is a staple in our house. The kids love it. I don't prepare using the garlic powder or cumin but sometimes I do add allspice. We serve this with a yogurt sauce consisting of plain yogurt, crushed garlic and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. It was so economical and such a comfort food. As per other reviews, I added 1 tsp garam masala to the lentils just before I stirred in the rice. I also sprinkled 1/2 tsp cumin seeds and a few dashes of cinnamon onto the onions as they fried / caramelized. Serving this with yogurt was a must. We used greek yogurt, and it was amazing. The tang of the yogurt with the sweetness of the caramelized onions and cinnamon went so well with the hearty lentil and rice mixture. I fried one large yellow onion, and that seemed to be enough. Next time, I will chop the onions instead of slice them into rings because the rings were difficult to incorporate into the lentil rice mixture. I will absolutely make this again. (I also made homemade whole wheat pitas to go with this dish - they were the perfect for this meal. Used a mixture of whole wheat and AP flour, 2:1 for whatever recipe you use.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
A bit bland as the recipe reads, but with a few seasoning changes, it was fantastic! Here's what I did to make it tasty: - vegetable stock instead of water - 3 onions caramelized until dark golden brown - cumin added to onions instead of lentils to toast - tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, 3 cloves added to lentil water - lots of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love lentils and rice. And this is pretty good with a bunch of modifications. However, it would have been very bland had I not added a bunch of ingredients. So the rating is for the recipe as written, but this can be made lots better by: * using a vegetable or chicken stock * adding the salt after the lentils are cooked, else the lentils will be tough if you add the salt earlier * adding some onions at the beginning, while the lentils are cooking * add an extra 1/2C liquid - even on my lowest simmer and with a lid on the pot, this still ran out of liquid before the lentils were cooked. When its time to add rice, also add: * extra water (you need 2 cups water for every cup of rice, so if you are going to add 3/4C rice, you should be adding 1 1/2C water, not just 3/4C water). * add 1 tsp or so of curry powder depending on how hot you like it. * add 1 tsp of garam masala (or allspice). * add 1/2 tsp ginger. At serving time: * provide greek yogurt or a raita. * provide sriracha hot pepper sauce. I didn't use the vegetable oil as it would have added a bunch of unnecessary calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My only comment about the recipe is that the proportion of lentils to rice was way off. One cup of lentils was too much for the amount of rice in the recipe. I would recommend either increasing the amount of rice and/or decreasing the amount of lentils. I also added a pinch of curry powder and topped it off with chopped parsley when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was great, easy comfort food. Definitely caramelize the onions! So-o-o good! I use broth instead of just water, and as suggested mix a spoonful of the yogurt with parsley or mint as well, into my serving, or eat it on the side with cucumber slices. I took others' suggestions and added or used in place of other spices, garlic powder and powdered ginger, allspice, powdered clove and cinnamon along with cumin. I have also used some sweet curry powder. This is not particularly spicy so for more flavour you can double the amounts of some of the spices. To avoid getting gas, add 2-3 whole clove (the spice, not the garlic) in cooking water of lentils. Gives nice subtle flavour and helps your digestion! We also like to add French Fried onions on top, along with the caramelized onions. Gives a nice salty crunchiness and texture. My husband added chopped fresh chilis from our garden for heat. So you can personalize this recipe depending on what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Came out great but a little too salty. I added a little allspice and I would highly recommend sauteing the onions for longer - until they turn brown preferably. it takes around 30 min but the taste is incomparable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My husband is from Lebanon and thinks he can cook better than me (German)! So to proof him wrong I cooked this today while he was at work. I also added allspice and cinnamon and 1 tbl Knorr Delikatess Brühe (vegetable broth granules) while lentils were cooking. I added rice and 1 fried chopped onion. I had to keep adding water to lentils and rice, about 2 cups, to get the right consistency. I didn't add the second tsp of salt, but added 7 spices my husband brought from Lebanon. And do add some sugar to caramelize onions. Overall I love this recipe, kids and husband did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very yummy! I would also suggest adding just a dollop of plain yogurt when serving to give it just a little tang. Other than this this recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States