Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is okay. I cooked the lentils in chicken broth for flavor, and added cumin as other reviewers have done. The flavor just wasn't strong enough for me,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
With a few alterations, this has become my de-facto side dish for lunch. I cut the recipe down to 1/2 cup lentils and 1/3 cup rice, with less garlic and cumin. I use chicken broth to cook the lentils and add chopped onion at the rice cooking stage. I divide it up into thirds for lunch, giving me something filling and tasty that's under 200 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Never had it before so had no expectations in comparing it to restaurants, just looking for new ideas. Appreciate the tip on waiting to add salt til the lentils are soft. Made a difference. Served with the yogurt sauce is a must as well. Thank you heljammal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I fixed this as a side dish for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Only thing I did different was cook the lentils in chicken broth instead of water and I added a teaspoon of garam masala and a pinch of curry. Also as others suggested I doubled the rice. It was a perfect ratio. I also added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon to the onions as they were browning. Tasted very much like what I've eaten in a local Lebanese restaurant. Thanks for a wonderful and easy side dish that goes with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have made this several times now. I prefer to use a couple of cloves of garlic rather than garlic powder and brown basmati rice so I add a little extra water. I also caramelize one extra onion and add it in to the lentils as they are cooking sometimes. My sons both love this dish and request it. The caramelized onions really make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Very tasty dish. I did add a bit of garam masala and cinnamon, as others suggested. I also cooked the lentils separately from the rice, since my children don't care for "spicy" food. Served with a side of sautéed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent vegy recipe that may also serve along with meat (as in my case). A claasic and a must try from Eastern Mediterranean cuisine. Spice up to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tema Aslanian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a BIG hit. I served with fresh warm tortillas. Surprisingly, eating it with a fork vs. the tortillas made a pretty large difference in the taste. I liked both ways. I agree with others that you have to really brown the onions. I changed the cooking time on my lentils to 25 minutes before adding the rice and followed the cooking time recommended on the rice (20 minutes). I added a touch of cinnamon to the onions. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This needed a lot of salt to get the flavors to pop, but once they did the dish was really good! I am SO bad at making rice and lentils (in any combination), so I won't fault the recipe when I say that mine turned out really mushy. I've never had this dish before, but from the pictures it looks like the rice should have a little fluff left in it. Mine did not. It was almost the consistency of mashed potatoes (almost). Again, I think that's due to my own inadequacies rather than the portions in the recipe. Even with the consistency being a little off, I was satisfied at the end of the meal! I definitely think I'll make this again, and hopefully I'll be able to tinker with the portions so that is looks more like the photos and less like gruel! Oh, added whole cumin seeds and a pinch of cinnamon to the fried-onion process and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Excellent simple, healthy dish! I followed the advice of others here and added a bit of cinnamon to my onions while they cooked, which was a great idea. I'd definitely recommend trying this out! It's cheap and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States