Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love lentils and rice. And this is pretty good with a bunch of modifications. However, it would have been very bland had I not added a bunch of ingredients. So the rating is for the recipe as written, but this can be made lots better by: * using a vegetable or chicken stock * adding the salt after the lentils are cooked, else the lentils will be tough if you add the salt earlier * adding some onions at the beginning, while the lentils are cooking * add an extra 1/2C liquid - even on my lowest simmer and with a lid on the pot, this still ran out of liquid before the lentils were cooked. When its time to add rice, also add: * extra water (you need 2 cups water for every cup of rice, so if you are going to add 3/4C rice, you should be adding 1 1/2C water, not just 3/4C water). * add 1 tsp or so of curry powder depending on how hot you like it. * add 1 tsp of garam masala (or allspice). * add 1/2 tsp ginger. At serving time: * provide greek yogurt or a raita. * provide sriracha hot pepper sauce. I didn't use the vegetable oil as it would have added a bunch of unnecessary calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was so good. It is like comfort food, but good for you! I cut out the vegetable oil completely and fried the onions with cooking spray. I used 1/2 the olive oil. By doing that this is a very low cal, low fat, extremely good for you as well as a super yummy meal. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was good but I think only because I used veg. stock instead of water, and I added garam masala. I think it would have been bland otherwise. I did have to use an additional 1 1/4c. of liquid, as it kept drying out and sticking to the pan before the lentils and rice were tender. I added salt to taste and put salt and cinnamon in with the sauteing onions. I cooked the onions way longer than the stated time, more like 40 min. I strained some reg. plain yogurt to make greek yogurt and served it on top. We ate this with a greek salad I made; all in all a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I've been making this for years, but I've always cooked the onion in about 1/4 C of olive oil (no vegetable oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Amazing. Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ok first of all this recipe was shared by someone who has a cool name- Osiris. :) Now that I have that out of the way- this was delicious. I didn't have All Spice (which some reviews recommend) so I used Pumpkin Pie Spice- kind of the same thing. Sounds weird but it came out delicious. I have no clue if this is authentic or not but it's pretty Middle Eastern in taste and delicious. Yeah for non soup lentil recipes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My local middle Eastern restaurant serves this dish as a special only on Thursdays. It is my FAVORITE dish but they wouldn't tell me what it is called! They call it the lentil special. I thought this recipe came closest to what it is they are serving there so I thought I'd give it a try. I took the advice of other reviewers and used vegetable stock instead of water and I put cinnamon and allspice in with the onions while they were cooking. I am thrilled to say it tastes exactly like their lentils! Im so excited I can now make this at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is okay. I cooked the lentils in chicken broth for flavor, and added cumin as other reviewers have done. The flavor just wasn't strong enough for me,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
With a few alterations, this has become my de-facto side dish for lunch. I cut the recipe down to 1/2 cup lentils and 1/3 cup rice, with less garlic and cumin. I use chicken broth to cook the lentils and add chopped onion at the rice cooking stage. I divide it up into thirds for lunch, giving me something filling and tasty that's under 200 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Never had it before so had no expectations in comparing it to restaurants, just looking for new ideas. Appreciate the tip on waiting to add salt til the lentils are soft. Made a difference. Served with the yogurt sauce is a must as well. Thank you heljammal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States