Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The spices are just right, but if you cook it as written, the lentils turn to mush. I cooked the lentils and rice together in the rice cooker together with all the ingrediants as written and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe is a keeper, my family loved it and it is even better the next day. I used Spanish Pardina lentils, basmati rice, yellow onions. I dry-toasted the cumin in a small skillet beforehand as I think it tastes nasty otherwise. I didn't add the salt until step 2 and, because the lentils had absorbed almost all the water after 20 minutes, I added an extra half cup of water with the rice. I sauteed the onions in 2 T of olive oil, they took about 20 minutes to carmelize. As suggested by other reviewers I added a good pinch of allspice and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe was really good. I made it in like half of the time by throwing all ingredients into the rice cooker. Also, I felt it was missing a little something, so I squeezed some fresh lemon wedges over the finished product right before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Over an HOUR later and it still isn't done? Are you kidding me? And the flavors are BARELY there, even with other people's suggestions. I'm going to have to cook something else entirely now. SO disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I've never made lentils and rice before but have enjoyed it many times. This is very good and reheats well - I took some for lunch today. As others have said, make sure the onions get nice and golden - let them go with the stir here and there. My husband doesn't like beans much and he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I read the reviews and modified as follows.. now it's a staple around my house. I used chicken stock, and no added salt, I added some garam masala, cinnamon and all spice (to taste), no onions.... served with raita and homemade naan very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
never had it before but my neighbor (who is from the middle east) loves this dish (its comfort food for them) so I decided to give it a shot. very tasty, very good - much better than any lentil soup receipt's that I've have ever made in the past. By the way, even though I've never heard of this dish, let alone made it, I did and it was pronounced EXCELLENT! which is truly amazing considering I don't even know how its supposed to turn out like. I did use chicken broth instead of water and increased amount of rice to 1 cup (and 3-1/2 cups chicken broth) and real garlic, not powdered (3 cloves). they told me allspice is typical and so I used some of that. I must say that even though I've never tasted what it should be like, but it was very good and recommend this highly to everyone, especially considering that lentils and rice are very good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My grandfather used to make this when I was a girl, he was Greek born in Egypt and raised in Saudi Arabia. I never knew what it was called and just happened to stumble on this receipe. Can't wait to make it. Though I am sure he also used spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Parowan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very good! I skipped the second teaspoon of salt and it was fine. I also used a half of oil to cook the onions (I used 1 1/2 large onions and could have used 2 whole. The big white ones from Costco.), and my daughter and I are very happy with this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I had to make it a four, because despite that this recipe is very good, it can use more spices. To enhance the flavors, I used a walmart Lebanese kebab spice (which has a mixture of cumin and other good Arabic spices, ground loosely). I used one large onion, a very large (fried) green pepper, and half a bunch of fresh coriander leaves (chopped), 2 large sprigs of fresh mint (chopped), 3 larger sprigs of fresh basil (chopped), diced, raw garlic (2 cloves) instead of powdered garlic, only olive oil (and as needed, no 1/4 cup, goodness that is way too much!). I think it can use more rice, so I'd add 1 c. next time instead of 3/4 c. Served with a salad of roundly sliced (skinned) cucumbers, and diced fresh red tomatoes, topped with the Walmart Lebanese spice mix, salt, and sprinkled fresh coriander, basil, and mint. Both items were lightly spruced with lemon juice (I only used one quarter of a rather small, but juicy, lemon, but I recommend using as much as you like to enhance the flavor of the herbs and veggies!) This recipe is a 3 or 4 as is, but with my adjustments it became a 5. I would make this exact thing again, and serve with both fresh, plain thick yogurt (full fat), some creamy rich homemade hummus, and fresh or warmed pitas or other flat breads (ie. Afghan bread). I served it with water, but I would like to try this with icy, cold mint tea. I didn't follow the times for this because I forgot, and it turned out perfect on the first try. It's almost a 5, just try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States