Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very good! I skipped the second teaspoon of salt and it was fine. I also used a half of oil to cook the onions (I used 1 1/2 large onions and could have used 2 whole. The big white ones from Costco.), and my daughter and I are very happy with this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I had to make it a four, because despite that this recipe is very good, it can use more spices. To enhance the flavors, I used a walmart Lebanese kebab spice (which has a mixture of cumin and other good Arabic spices, ground loosely). I used one large onion, a very large (fried) green pepper, and half a bunch of fresh coriander leaves (chopped), 2 large sprigs of fresh mint (chopped), 3 larger sprigs of fresh basil (chopped), diced, raw garlic (2 cloves) instead of powdered garlic, only olive oil (and as needed, no 1/4 cup, goodness that is way too much!). I think it can use more rice, so I'd add 1 c. next time instead of 3/4 c. Served with a salad of roundly sliced (skinned) cucumbers, and diced fresh red tomatoes, topped with the Walmart Lebanese spice mix, salt, and sprinkled fresh coriander, basil, and mint. Both items were lightly spruced with lemon juice (I only used one quarter of a rather small, but juicy, lemon, but I recommend using as much as you like to enhance the flavor of the herbs and veggies!) This recipe is a 3 or 4 as is, but with my adjustments it became a 5. I would make this exact thing again, and serve with both fresh, plain thick yogurt (full fat), some creamy rich homemade hummus, and fresh or warmed pitas or other flat breads (ie. Afghan bread). I served it with water, but I would like to try this with icy, cold mint tea. I didn't follow the times for this because I forgot, and it turned out perfect on the first try. It's almost a 5, just try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by falonluvsjakey
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Don't let the name scare you. Great mid-eastern take on rice and beans. International flavor without having to break your budget. Husband and I enjoyed the dish fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Yum. Be sure to make enough caramelized onions, they taste better than you think and they shrink up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious, my go to cheap and easy dinner! I've never happened to have garlic powder on hand when making this, but I think it is great without. It takes about 20 minutes for my onions to get soft and sweet, but it really does add great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love lentils and rice. And this is pretty good with a bunch of modifications. However, it would have been very bland had I not added a bunch of ingredients. So the rating is for the recipe as written, but this can be made lots better by: * using a vegetable or chicken stock * adding the salt after the lentils are cooked, else the lentils will be tough if you add the salt earlier * adding some onions at the beginning, while the lentils are cooking * add an extra 1/2C liquid - even on my lowest simmer and with a lid on the pot, this still ran out of liquid before the lentils were cooked. When its time to add rice, also add: * extra water (you need 2 cups water for every cup of rice, so if you are going to add 3/4C rice, you should be adding 1 1/2C water, not just 3/4C water). * add 1 tsp or so of curry powder depending on how hot you like it. * add 1 tsp of garam masala (or allspice). * add 1/2 tsp ginger. At serving time: * provide greek yogurt or a raita. * provide sriracha hot pepper sauce. I didn't use the vegetable oil as it would have added a bunch of unnecessary calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was so good. It is like comfort food, but good for you! I cut out the vegetable oil completely and fried the onions with cooking spray. I used 1/2 the olive oil. By doing that this is a very low cal, low fat, extremely good for you as well as a super yummy meal. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was good but I think only because I used veg. stock instead of water, and I added garam masala. I think it would have been bland otherwise. I did have to use an additional 1 1/4c. of liquid, as it kept drying out and sticking to the pan before the lentils and rice were tender. I added salt to taste and put salt and cinnamon in with the sauteing onions. I cooked the onions way longer than the stated time, more like 40 min. I strained some reg. plain yogurt to make greek yogurt and served it on top. We ate this with a greek salad I made; all in all a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I've been making this for years, but I've always cooked the onion in about 1/4 C of olive oil (no vegetable oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Amazing. Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States