Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I lived in Europe and love eating muesli there. This is very authentic. I changed the wheat bran to ground flax seed. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is very good, I use craisins and add chopped dates. I love that you can add any addtional dried fruits or nuts that you like. I also add additional sunflower seeds. I've been putting it on top of Trader Joe's greek style yogurt - AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne k from nm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I make Muesli a few times a week for my family of 5. Here is how I got my husband to TRY oatmeal and LOVE it with almost no time or effort! I simplify this to equal parts rolled oats and fat free milk with a little cinnamon and sugar (if desired) with raisins and blueberries. To make things even easier - I use those ingredients and mix them before bed, cover with wrap and put it in the fridge. The oats get a deliciously chewy texture and everything is super cold since it chilled overnight. (I even heat it for my little ones when they wake up chilly) For blueberries, I use the blueberries we picked and froze because they thaw perfectly by morning. All but the milk and berries can even be premixed in bulk and kept on hand to make it even EASIER! Don't forget - put in whatever you want for mix-ins! Nuts are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I have been making this recipe for about one year now. We have a local co-op where I can buy all the ingredients for way less than a box of cereal. My only adjustment to the recipe is that I use craisins instead of raisins. I made a batch for my brother, and he loved it. My favorite way to eat it is with vanilla Activa yogurt, and frozen blueberries. It is very filling, healthy, and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and only 1/2 the amount called for in the recipe (as is the case with Splenda blends) and we LOVE this!! My children and I eat this whole batch within two days of making it so we've gone to at least doubling or tripling it. We eat 1 cup at a time with soy milk. My son and I microwave it for 1:30 and my daughter eats it cold. THANK you for this wonderful, healthy, satisfying, hearty Muesli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Howard Cloud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe! It is so simple & very delicious. I didn't have oat or wheat bran on hand, so I substituted ground flaxseed & grape-nuts type cereal instead. Can't wait for my kids to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This has become a breakfast, and sometimes snack, tradition. So delicious and nutritious. The only thing I noticed is that the whole quantity of wheat bran can made it a little to saw dusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasperbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
thank you so much! i have just been traveling in europe for the past month and fell in love with muesli. after seeing boxes at the store for $7.99 (!?!?) i checked here to see if there was a good recipe. it's perfect - just like what i had in europe! i've been topping it with fresh fruit and mixing it with bran flakes, or i add in extra dried fruit as well (apples, figs...). i also added flaxseed and substituted almonds. no need for sugar (honestly, this is coming from a huge sweet tooth) this recipe is awesome, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
My husband and I are totally addicted to this muesli. We discovered it last week and have been eating it daily since then. I had to go back to the store to get more ingredients and have been sending my friends home with little bags of it. I added some flax seeds and slivered almonds, as well as dried blueberries and cherries. YUM!! I have so far had it cold with milk, with vanilla yogurt, and hot with milk. With yogurt is so far my favorite, but I like the diversity of it, so I won't get sick of it. We both noticed that we were full much longer and had more energy than usual after having this for breakfast. I will never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I really liked this recipe and that surprised me because it was so simple. I used craisins instead of raisins and omitted the sunflower seeds because I didn't have any. I have found that I like this dry, with milk, warm, or as a topping for yogurt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States