Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Really good base recipe. I'm not a fan of walnuts so I used almonds instead and for a crispier texture: toast the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! I'm eating mine now with almond milk. My Trader Joe's didn't have wheat germ or wheat bran, so I added the oat bran, and then supplemented with toasted flax seeds (a la Trader Joe's) that lent the muesli a wonderfully toasted taste. No sunflower seeds - used slivered almonds instead, with raisins and dried cranberries. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Some cool mix-ins to try. Date crumbles from the bulk dept..left over canned pumpkin (just a spoon or two) is delicious. My all-time FAVE is leftover baked squash. When I have leftover butternut squash, I put a couple spoons-full in each of several covered individual tupperware-type bowls, add the muesli mix, milk (as I HATE yogurt) and a tiny drizzle of mable syrup. Put the lids on the bowls and grab on the way out the door each morning. Tastes like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I've never had muesli before but I love granola so I gave this a try. It's very versatile. I did a google search on muesli and found that most people soak it in yogurt (with a little apple juice or milk to thin it out) overnight and they add fresh grated apple. This was a delicious breakfast that kept me full all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe, although too sweet for what I've become used to in Europe. I omitted the sugar and walnuts and added 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts instead. My favorite way is to have more of a toasted flavor, so I toast the hazelnuts and also add 1/2 cup toasted coconut and 1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds. I also add a 1/2 cup each of dried blueberries and cranberries. The great thing about making your own muesli is that you can customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
When I first made this I pretty much followed the recipe exactly but found it too green tasting. I doubled the sugar (1 tbsp per servings isn't so bad) and found it much, much tastier. Eat this with yogurt and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
great muesli even my boys love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I am admittedly not much of a healthy food person, although I'm trying to watch my calories and at least start the day off well. I made this and first tried it with plain yogurt and some added fruit, as some reviewers suggested, and I thought it was so disgusting I almost threw away the whole container of muesli. I calmed down and later tried it cooked like regular oatmeal, and it was MUCH better. I'm not even much of an oatmeal fan but this made it quite a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Thanks for this base recipe. I've only made it once, and I adapted it according to what I had on hand, but I'll spare you the details. Others have already written enough. I wanted to contribute some information which I discovered in a google search: the traditional Swiss way to prepare muesli is to soak it overnight in milk, water, or fruit juice in a covered bowl. In the morning, the dry ingredients will have softened considerably and will be easier to digest. Add your fresh fruit du jour, and voilà! A moist, flavourful, and healthful breakfast which doesn't require any heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States