Muesli Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I am on a VERY restricted diet with no dairy, soy or egg and it is very hard to find anything to eat on the go. I have really enjoyed these bars! i do make a few changes though: i up the amount of crushed almonds, I add ground flax seed for nutrition (and you can't taste that it is there), and I use the Enjoy Life semi-sweet choc. chips (dairy and soy free). fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These definitely didn't turn out as I expected. We can't really taste the peanut butter, even though I used ALL peanut butter (and no almond butter). However, for a recipe to use up the puffed rice cereal no one was going to eat anyway, it was a success. I won't make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiluted_one

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Husband says 4, I say 3. There is just something I don't like about how peanut butter tastes after it has been mixed with anything besides plain sugar, I guess, because I never like these sorts of bars with peanut butter & honey or corn syrup. Although, to be fair, the hot peanut butter mixture DID taste good while it was still syrupy--maybe it's the vanilla I object to? I'm not sure. Overall this was too sweet for me, had an undertone I didn't like, and the raw oats were a little difficult to mix in. This was very easy to make and I'm pretty sure it would be well-received by children even with "healthier" additions due to its overall sweetness and store-bought texture (and yes, it has that Quaker chewy granola bar texture.) Thanks for the recipe! (Photo coming soon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very nice and a little goes a long way to satisfaction. Good for those who like snack bars and want to have control over ingredients and quality. I feel much better putting this in my husband's lunch than the processed sort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaktus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is fantastic! It tastes like a cross between a granola bar and a rice krispy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I used raw, unprocessed honey and followed the recipe exactly. Came out perfect, no problem forming the bars. They were very good. Chocolate did melt, but nobody seemed to mind. Cut them into individual squares and put them in the freezer. They thaw quickly and taste fresh. The whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These tasted great but sort of fell apart. I wouldn't necessarily call them muesli bars, either. I think almond butter is too spendy and didn't just have any on hand so I used 1.5 cups peanut butter and that worked just fine. I used white chocolate chips and added about a cup of raisins as well. Maybe I put too much "stuff" in. All in all a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These bars are tasty! I halved the recipe and it still worked out great. Next time I will try adding a little bit less honey as it was a bit overpowering to the peanut butter using the ratio in the recipe. I waited a bit before adding the chocolate chips, but as other reviewers, not long enough cause they still melted in. Still got the peanut butter / chocolate taste, but next time I'll try being a bit more patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very tasty yet 4 stars cause I could not get it to form into a bar. I was out of honey, used sugar , maybe thats why. Thanks for a great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this and we loved it, but MUESLI??? For my second batch I cut the puffed rice from 7 cups to 5, and put in a cup of diced dried apricot and a cup of raisins. It's still beautiful eating and I might move further into the healthy stuff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States