Muesli Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I liked this recipe, but noone else in the family did. The molasses adds a strange taste, hard to get over for some people. Healthy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I really liked these bars a lot and they're very easy to make. They were sweet, but the honey flavor wasn't overpowering as it is in some recipes. I thought the texture was great -- crispy and chewy, not soggy. The one thing I would consider changing is letting the hot ingredients cool a bit before adding to the dry ingredients because the chocolate chips melted -- the bars tasted chocolatey instead of like the peanut and almond butter. They would also probably be very good without any chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Wonderful recipe, although I wouldn't go as far to eat it for breakfast (it's not quite that healthy), but definately an easy snack. My mother eats these like there is no tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is an amazing recipe, everything about it the texture and the taste is great. I changed the chocolate pieces for raisins and added seeds and nuts, and it was fantastic as a fairly healthy snack, with no artificial flavours or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I liked this recipe but next time I'd modify it a bit more. It was too sweet and not peanut buttery enough. I would also add more nuts, dried fruit, and skip the chocolate (carob) chips. As it was I didn't have almond butter so I used 1.5 c peanut butter. I forgot the vanilla. I also added raisins as some people suggested and let the coating mixture cool a bit before adding it to the oats and rice so it wouldn't melt the carob chips. It was definitely easy and made a lot of bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this and we loved it, but MUESLI??? For my second batch I cut the puffed rice from 7 cups to 5, and put in a cup of diced dried apricot and a cup of raisins. It's still beautiful eating and I might move further into the healthy stuff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very tasty yet 4 stars cause I could not get it to form into a bar. I was out of honey, used sugar , maybe thats why. Thanks for a great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These bars are tasty! I halved the recipe and it still worked out great. Next time I will try adding a little bit less honey as it was a bit overpowering to the peanut butter using the ratio in the recipe. I waited a bit before adding the chocolate chips, but as other reviewers, not long enough cause they still melted in. Still got the peanut butter / chocolate taste, but next time I'll try being a bit more patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These tasted great but sort of fell apart. I wouldn't necessarily call them muesli bars, either. I think almond butter is too spendy and didn't just have any on hand so I used 1.5 cups peanut butter and that worked just fine. I used white chocolate chips and added about a cup of raisins as well. Maybe I put too much "stuff" in. All in all a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I used raw, unprocessed honey and followed the recipe exactly. Came out perfect, no problem forming the bars. They were very good. Chocolate did melt, but nobody seemed to mind. Cut them into individual squares and put them in the freezer. They thaw quickly and taste fresh. The whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States