Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Love this recipe. It does well as is, and I like to add nuts instead of raisins sometimes. All my friends cheer when I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I've made these muffins several times and my family loves them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hindhead, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very good and healthy muffin....easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These muffins are fantastic! My kids were begging for more. I did modify it to fit our own family preferences. I, after having noticed that my applesauce was 'expired', used 1 c. of ripe, mashed banana instead. Wow, what a great texture. I don't think I'll ever use the applesauce! I used 2/3 c. turbinado sugar in place of the white sugar. I lowered the amount of water to about 1/3 c., thinking the bananas were a little more runny than applesauce would be. I did use all whole wheat flour and it worked wonderfully. I chose Healthy Heart Blend cereal from Fiber One and it was great! I also used fresh blueberries since I had just gone picking! An absolutely wonderful muffin recipe I will use and share over and over again. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was surprisingly good. I subbed applebutter for the applesauce and water as I wanted strong flavor from the applebutter. I also only used about 1/6 cup of oil. For the muesli I used Sunbelt Cinnamon Raisen granola because it wasn't very good and wasn't going to get eaten as cereal. I baked this in 2 loaf pans for about 30 minutes and sprinkled a bit of granola on top of the loaves. They came out very moist and had tons of flavor to them. It is a bit crumbly because of the granola, but it's really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very very good. I made a few changes to the recipe. First of all instead of the 1/3 cup of oil I added an additional 1/3 cup of applesauce, and I didn't use the 1/2 cup of water because it would have made the batter to liquid. I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg because I didn't have any allspice at the moment. For the muesli I used my own homemade granola. My family loved them! The muffins were very moist and flavorful; 5 stars~thanks Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Delicious!!...I read the reviews and decided to cut out most of the oil and replace it with applesauce, leave out the water and because my muesli has a lot of fruit in it, I only used 1/2 cup of raisins. Because my mind goes straight to brown sugar when I think apples and cinnamon, I devided the sugar and used half brown and half white. They are lovely and moist, and will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very moist & delicious! I didn't add extra raisins because they were already in my Muesli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Half-Japanese Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ruckersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I loved the taste and texture of these muffins. I did replace the water with a half cup of gingerbread tea since the only spice I had was cinnamon. I loved it so much with the tea, that the second time I made them I added Sugar Plum spice tea instead of the half cup of water. I had a generic granola/flake cereal. I added cranberries and rasins one time, and also loved that. I did replace the white sugar with the brown, and sprinkled extra brown sugar on top before baking. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These muffins were GREAT! I used more applesauce than called for, and just a tiny bit of oil instead of the 1/3 cup. They came out moist and yummy! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States