Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
So good. I used more applesauce instead of oil, only half cup of sugar, used Kellogg's cereal and added raisins, and it was fabulous. Great recipe!!! Very yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
nom, nom, nom. My two teenage boys can not get enough of these; I've been making them for more than a year now and they're still requesting them constantly. I pack them in their lunches instead of sandwiches sometimes. I have altered the recipe: I use 1 cup all purpose flour, 1/4 cup wheat flour and 3 Tablespoons ground flax seed and 1 Tablespoon wheat germ. The museli I use has nuts and dried fruit in it, but I still add more dried cherries or blueberries. The boys know they're healthy for them and still they consume mass quantities. Thanks for posting this! It's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These muffins were GREAT! I used more applesauce than called for, and just a tiny bit of oil instead of the 1/3 cup. They came out moist and yummy! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I loved the taste and texture of these muffins. I did replace the water with a half cup of gingerbread tea since the only spice I had was cinnamon. I loved it so much with the tea, that the second time I made them I added Sugar Plum spice tea instead of the half cup of water. I had a generic granola/flake cereal. I added cranberries and rasins one time, and also loved that. I did replace the white sugar with the brown, and sprinkled extra brown sugar on top before baking. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very moist & delicious! I didn't add extra raisins because they were already in my Muesli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Half-Japanese Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ruckersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Delicious!!...I read the reviews and decided to cut out most of the oil and replace it with applesauce, leave out the water and because my muesli has a lot of fruit in it, I only used 1/2 cup of raisins. Because my mind goes straight to brown sugar when I think apples and cinnamon, I devided the sugar and used half brown and half white. They are lovely and moist, and will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very very good. I made a few changes to the recipe. First of all instead of the 1/3 cup of oil I added an additional 1/3 cup of applesauce, and I didn't use the 1/2 cup of water because it would have made the batter to liquid. I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg because I didn't have any allspice at the moment. For the muesli I used my own homemade granola. My family loved them! The muffins were very moist and flavorful; 5 stars~thanks Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very Good, i didnt put the cereal in them, i only put the raisins and i added some shaved almonds to it.. VERY DELICIOUS!! Cut back on the time to around 15-18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good (for being so healthy ;) I made quite a few changes - I didn't have Muesli (the "name" of the recipe) so I used Fiber One Honey Cluster. I also used whole wheat flour, omitted the raisins, added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 3/4 C. chocolate chips - If I put chocolate chips in it...my kids will eat anything! I will probably make thiese again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Pretty good. Nice and moist if only cooked for 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States