Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I was impressed with the final result, very moist, chewy and bursting with flavor! Being a health freak I subbed the oil for a jar of pureed carrots, and used Splenda instead of sugar. I added dried cranberries to my muesli and following the advice of a review above, I used a gingerbread teabag in the half cup of water to infuse more flavor. I will try again with light greek yogurt for added protein and more nuts for added crunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahnah Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This has become my go-to muffin recipe when I want a quick, relatively healthy breakfast that goes nicely with coffee! It is very versatile, as the meusli can be swapped out for granola, rolled oats, other grainy cereals, etc. I also swap in whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil. These muffins are rapidly devoured every time I make a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
These are delish, and healthy too. What a great combo! I also added walnut for extra yumminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Amazing! I have made these twice in the last 24 hours! The first time I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added about 1/2 cup diced apple instead of raisins. The Mueslix cereal I used already has raisins in it. The second time around, I added apple, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and swapped 1/2 cup of the flour for wheat. They were fabulous both times! I used a standard muffin pan and the recipe made 12 huge muffins with high and gorgeous tops. They were perfect for breakfast and as a "thank you" gift for a neighbor. I'll definitely be making these again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Healthy, almost guilt-free deliciosity - marvelous, satisfying flavor and texture. Few personal changes: substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for oil, flavored water with orange spice teabag, substitued 1/3 cup Splenda blend brown sugar for sugar, and used meusli with dates, almonds and raisins - would otherwise add dry fruit and nuts. With these changes, muffins baked in 20 minutes. Easy to forget removing baked muffins from pan immediately - otherwise will overbake. Easily takes the place of less desirable "treats."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love the texture of the crunchy cereal in this fantastic healthier muffin. I did follow another suggestion of 3 tbls flax and 1 tbls of wheat germ to replace 1/4 cup of flour and will add dried fruits to the next batch just to kick up the healthy a bit more. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Awesome! I did make some changes though: I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, used only 1/3 cup (brown) sugar (2/3 sounded like it would be too sweet), and all whole wheat flour. I added only 1/2 cup raisins because my muesli had some. I did use all the 1/2 cup water, and it was just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
i just love these!!! i sometimes add a few extra nuts (almonds or walnuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I do believe these are the best muffins I've ever made. I added an overripe banana, which was my inspiration for making muffins in the first place, and skipped the extra raisins because my Muelsi already had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My goal was to make this recipe as is, but based on what I had on hand, I ended up using this as a base recipe with several substitutions. I only had 1/2 cup applesauce, so I mashed up a banana and a small can of peaches and added them. My muesli already had raisins, so I added 1/2 cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and wheat flour instead of all purpose. The end result: delicious! I will be using this recipe again, with or without substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States