Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very good and healthy muffin....easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Love this recipe. It does well as is, and I like to add nuts instead of raisins sometimes. All my friends cheer when I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Delicious!!...I read the reviews and decided to cut out most of the oil and replace it with applesauce, leave out the water and because my muesli has a lot of fruit in it, I only used 1/2 cup of raisins. Because my mind goes straight to brown sugar when I think apples and cinnamon, I devided the sugar and used half brown and half white. They are lovely and moist, and will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These muffins are fantastic! My kids were begging for more. I did modify it to fit our own family preferences. I, after having noticed that my applesauce was 'expired', used 1 c. of ripe, mashed banana instead. Wow, what a great texture. I don't think I'll ever use the applesauce! I used 2/3 c. turbinado sugar in place of the white sugar. I lowered the amount of water to about 1/3 c., thinking the bananas were a little more runny than applesauce would be. I did use all whole wheat flour and it worked wonderfully. I chose Healthy Heart Blend cereal from Fiber One and it was great! I also used fresh blueberries since I had just gone picking! An absolutely wonderful muffin recipe I will use and share over and over again. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I've made these muffins several times and my family loves them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hindhead, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very very good. I made a few changes to the recipe. First of all instead of the 1/3 cup of oil I added an additional 1/3 cup of applesauce, and I didn't use the 1/2 cup of water because it would have made the batter to liquid. I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg because I didn't have any allspice at the moment. For the muesli I used my own homemade granola. My family loved them! The muffins were very moist and flavorful; 5 stars~thanks Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These muffins were GREAT! I used more applesauce than called for, and just a tiny bit of oil instead of the 1/3 cup. They came out moist and yummy! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was surprisingly good. I subbed applebutter for the applesauce and water as I wanted strong flavor from the applebutter. I also only used about 1/6 cup of oil. For the muesli I used Sunbelt Cinnamon Raisen granola because it wasn't very good and wasn't going to get eaten as cereal. I baked this in 2 loaf pans for about 30 minutes and sprinkled a bit of granola on top of the loaves. They came out very moist and had tons of flavor to them. It is a bit crumbly because of the granola, but it's really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very moist & delicious! I didn't add extra raisins because they were already in my Muesli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Half-Japanese Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ruckersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I loved the taste and texture of these muffins. I did replace the water with a half cup of gingerbread tea since the only spice I had was cinnamon. I loved it so much with the tea, that the second time I made them I added Sugar Plum spice tea instead of the half cup of water. I had a generic granola/flake cereal. I added cranberries and rasins one time, and also loved that. I did replace the white sugar with the brown, and sprinkled extra brown sugar on top before baking. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States