Muesli-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I made these using raisin bran instead of muesli, and they turned out well. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Love this recipe. It does well as is, and I like to add nuts instead of raisins sometimes. All my friends cheer when I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I've made these muffins several times and my family loves them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hindhead, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I tried this recipe a few different ways. In one version, I added 1/2 cup melted caramel squares and skipped the muesli and raisins. I also added 1/2 tsp of cloves. The second variation was the same as the first, except I used Splenda instead of regular sugar, and I left out the caramels. This made an EXCELLENT sugar-free apple cinnamon muffin. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very good and healthy muffin....easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These muffins are fantastic! My kids were begging for more. I did modify it to fit our own family preferences. I, after having noticed that my applesauce was 'expired', used 1 c. of ripe, mashed banana instead. Wow, what a great texture. I don't think I'll ever use the applesauce! I used 2/3 c. turbinado sugar in place of the white sugar. I lowered the amount of water to about 1/3 c., thinking the bananas were a little more runny than applesauce would be. I did use all whole wheat flour and it worked wonderfully. I chose Healthy Heart Blend cereal from Fiber One and it was great! I also used fresh blueberries since I had just gone picking! An absolutely wonderful muffin recipe I will use and share over and over again. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was surprisingly good. I subbed applebutter for the applesauce and water as I wanted strong flavor from the applebutter. I also only used about 1/6 cup of oil. For the muesli I used Sunbelt Cinnamon Raisen granola because it wasn't very good and wasn't going to get eaten as cereal. I baked this in 2 loaf pans for about 30 minutes and sprinkled a bit of granola on top of the loaves. They came out very moist and had tons of flavor to them. It is a bit crumbly because of the granola, but it's really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I substituted whole yogurt for the applesauce, used 1/2 c. whole wheat + 1 cup all purpose flour (instead of 1.5 c of all purpose).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Taste was just okay and muffins crumbled a lot. Might have more taste if mashed bananas in to it. Don't think I'm going to do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Pretty good. Nice and moist if only cooked for 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States