Muenster Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
A variation of this recipe has been my favorite for years---this was the dish I requested my mom make me when I came home after living in Nepal for 3 months (she had it waiting for me in the car at the airport)!!! We do things a little differently: cut chicken into bite-size pieces, soak in beaten eggs for 2 hours, then dip out and put into large plastic bag already filled with Italian seasoned bread crumbs, minced garlic, and parsley. Shake until coated then put into hot pan with oil and brown all over. Place browned chicken pieces into casserole, top with 8 oz-1 lb. fresh, sliced mushrooms, 12 oz. shredded muenster cheese, then pour 1 cup chicken broth over. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until golden and bubbly. Serve over rice. YUM-YUM-YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This recipe was good, however I did not have mushrooms but I did have a can of cream of mushroom. I mixed that with chicken broth and poured it over the chicken. It turned very well plus it had a nice gravy. I think will stick with this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Great recipe. Very moist and tender chicken. I cut the chicken into "nuggets" before breading them and used egg instead of milk to dip the raw chicken into before the bread crumbs. I also used more mushrooms than called for and only put them on half (I don't like them, my husband does). Also, I grated my cheese instead of using slices. Next time I'll probably add more chicken broth just to see if we'll have more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
We LOVED this recipe!! Followed others suggestions about dipping chicken in egg instead of milk, doubling up on the cheese and sauteing the mushrooms. Was just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
We thought this was a good recipe but we felt that if we added cream of chicken it would have been better. We thought the chicken broth was just too runny. We sauted the mushrooms in butter which was very good. We would suggest after sauteing them to brown the chicken in the same pan so the bread crumbs don't stick and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This was a hit! I ended up substituting the chicken broth with cream of chicken and it gave it even more flavor! I served it with rice and a light cucumber salad. Everyone was ewwwwwwing and awwwwwwing! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I horizontally sliced the really big chix breasts instead of pounding (lazy day) and then Seasoned the chix breasts with red pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, basil and seasoned salt. Used 1 egg instead of milk and seasoned panko chips with red pepper, italian seasoning, parsley, and fresh minced garlic. I didn't fry the chix breast for fear of all the crumbs coming off, so I refrigerated them for 1 hour to make them stick. Topped each chix breast with sauteed mushrooms and topped with cheese sliced (if the cheese is on top of the mushrooms, it holds them in place). Poured 3/4 cup chix broth mixed with 1/4 cup white wine around chix breats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I've made this before, however, I didn't add mushrooms, and I added spiral egg noodles in the pan with it...dry, they cooked nicely and the bread crumbs, cheese and broth made a wonderful sauce to eat with both!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I give this a 5, but it needs tweaking. I added lots of herbs and spices, as well as a little wine. Also, be careful not to overcook or it will come out tough. I cooked it for about 35-40 min and it was great. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've been making a similar dish for years with one exception. The most notable addition, which really makes the dish in my opinion, is to squeeze fresh lemon juice over the whole dish before it goes into the oven. Also, I use very thin chicken breast cutlets and decrease the cooking time to 30 mins total. If you don't have muenster, swiss cheese works well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States