Muenster-Bacon Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Though I did things a little different, this recipe looked so good that I really wanted to try it without all the fat content. This still came out very good. I used the recipe for cooking bacon in the oven from this site, bacon for a crowd which I must say I think is wonderful, make sure you use a pan with sides for the drippings, or check out the reviews for some great tips. Though I do use the thick bacon I think this could do well with thin bacon if the heat is cut back and watched carefully. I also have used parchment paper and overlap the bacon so it curls less. Add parchment or foil to the top so it don't splatter. Heated olive oil in a skillet and browned both sides of chicken then put in oven to finish. So yummy. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was good. I have to say, though, that it was an overkill on the cheese and bacon. I don't think it needs the provolone or bacon sprinkled on top. Stuffing the chicken with muenster and bacon was enough for me. It was also quite spicy. Not bad spicy, but relatively spicy, so I'd probably either not use the hot sauce with the egg or not use the cajun seasoning with the bread crumbs. I made my own cajun seasoning with the Simple Cajun Seasoning recipe from this site. I used turkey bacon, and I didn't like cooking the chicken in the same pan as the bacon. The pan was a burned mess (maybe bc I used turkey bacon?) before I transferred to a baking dish (I have a skillet that can be put in the oven but I misread the directions). I'd cook the bacon separately next time. I also think the breading and egg could have been used for 4 chicken breasts, not 3. Overall, I liked it and with less cheese and spice would be excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wow. I don't know where to begin. I'm giving this 2 stars only because it was SOOOOO SALTY! This is a heart attack waiting to happen and I had to pull all of the stuffing out to even eat the chicken. I seriously feel the need to guzzle a gallon of water as I type this. My face is puckering from all of the salt I just consumed. However, the basics are good and this could be a nice dish if tweaked. The salt is completely uncessary due to the salt in the massive amount of bacon called for. The creole seasoning is also 90% salt. I will make this again with the following changes. Completely omit all salt, use 1/2 of the bacon and use smoked gouda instead of whatever cheese is called for in this receipe. I will also cut the creole seasoning into at LEAST half. As far as the bread crumbs, use Panko. MUCH better. I'm now going to drink a gallon of water and try to recover from my salt attack meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made this recipe as stated and LOVED it! I did not think it was too cheesy, as we like cheesy at our house. Everyone agreed it was a keeper. I little messy and time consuming and calorie loaded, but still good enough to endulge in occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is really good!! I skipped the egg and just breaded with crumbs and seasoning. I tripled the recipe and left 1/2 provolone-free (for my son that is picky about gobs of melted cheese - but, like pomplemousse, I did think there was a bit of overkill - it would be fine with "just" the muenster & bacon in the middle). I probably won't make this often because it's kind of messy, time-consuming and deadly fattening, but we really enjoyed it tonight! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
amazing! definitely took others suggestion and didn't add salt. skipped the cajun (ran out) but added a bit of cayenne and Parmesan cheese to the breadcrumb mixture. since some cheeses are a bit more pricey, I just used cheddar and a bit of cream cheese that was on hand. It turned out great and my husband says that its a recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Was a lot of work. Nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Brayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this as written with 2 breasts so I could rate it fairly, and that gets a 3 1/2, but easily altered to get a 4 with, as others said, a bit less of everything. There were just so many layers, they competed a bit, I think. With the rest, we used the same basic concept and ingredients minus the breadcrumbs and egg and less bacon and cheese, stuffed with a bit of both cheeses and bacon and grilled them. The taste was nearly the same, just a preferred way of cooking chicken this time of year. It's a good recipe either way, and adjustable. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars because my hubby & kids rated it 10! However, it does have a kick-I think I'd leave the hot sauce out next time just because I don't feel it really complimented the rest of the flavors. I used 1 1/2 tsp of garlic salt in place of the salt & garlic powder. The muenster completley melted out of the chicken so it was kind of a waste but I disagree that it was cheese overkill. Since the muenster melted, we were left w/just the provolone & it needed more cheese imo. I was hoping for a really rich, cheesy chicken breast & it wasn't. It WAS very good tho! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by crazyjenny
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Ummm...Wow, really, really good... Totally worth the time to make this. Other reviewers said that it was a little overwhelming-I disagree..But I love cheese, and I love Bacon. Really good.Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States