Mud Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I have to say, this recipe is FANTAB! I love to bring pies to my Bible Study and my fellow worshipers thought it was fantastic. I added crunched up Samoa Girl Scout Cookies (Be Prepared!) in the fudge layer. It was excellent. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I wanted to make this recipe for a few reasons. First, I loved that it was labor intensive and completely from scratch. Second, the last review is a few years old and there is no photo of this recipe yet. I pretty much followed the recipe as written. For the chocolate cookies, I used Oreos, which I chopped finely in my blender. The caramel sauce turned out nice and creamy. For the fudge I realized I was out of Karo syrup as I was making it so I made a homemade verision. The espresso fudge is amazing, don't substitute or leave out the espresso! For the vanilla ice cream, I made homemade vanilla ice cream using a David Lebovitz recipe. On top of the last fugde layer on top of the ice cream I added Godiva 85% chocolate shavings then I piped on homemade whipped cream and added cherries. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Delish! It is so rich, I decided to use only half the caramel and half the fudge, using the fudge on top only. I substituted slow churned coffee ice cream for the vanilla and I cut the butter in half on the crust and the chocolate fudge. Also, edged the pie in crushed, raw almonds. So now you can have your cake (pie) and eat it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
FANTASIC SUMMER DESSERT FOR FAMILY OR A FRIENDLY GATHERING. EASY, YUMMY, AND COOL. MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS WERE QUITE IMPRESSED. THANK Y0U.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I think this recipe was the best I have ever tasted. Easy to make and wonderfull for a parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was excellent. We had it on Christmas Eve as a 'Birthday Cake for Jesus' and the kids agreed that it would probably be His favorite too. :) Next time I will make it without the coffee, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is such an awesome recipe! I did some simple modifications and it was a hit at Thanksgiving (The proof was in all of the leftover pumpkin pie that year!) First I used a store bought espresso I found in the coffee section of my supermarket. Then because I love macadamia nuts, I chopped them and spread them over the caramel layer. I also use two different ice cream flavors- chocolate and coffe, and I spread more of the espresso sauce in between those layers. Finally I top it off with more of the chopped macadamia nuts and serve it with whipped cream. Make sure you cut the slices thin because this is rich- but absolutely heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
A definite crowd pleaser. The carmel in this is absolutely magnificent. My hats off to the chef for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. Last Superbowl Sunday, he even offered to go to the store for me to get ice cream if I would make this pie. One note: I had a really hard time with the caramel sauce and the crystals. I read to add a few drops of lemon juice to the water/suger and it would keep the crystals from forming on top. This is a rich but EXCELLENT dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I make extra jars of the espresso fudge sauce just for ice cream sundaes when the pie is gone! They're a great Christmas gift as well and all of our friends ask for jars too! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States