Mud Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is such an awesome recipe! I did some simple modifications and it was a hit at Thanksgiving (The proof was in all of the leftover pumpkin pie that year!) First I used a store bought espresso I found in the coffee section of my supermarket. Then because I love macadamia nuts, I chopped them and spread them over the caramel layer. I also use two different ice cream flavors- chocolate and coffe, and I spread more of the espresso sauce in between those layers. Finally I top it off with more of the chopped macadamia nuts and serve it with whipped cream. Make sure you cut the slices thin because this is rich- but absolutely heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I wanted to make this recipe for a few reasons. First, I loved that it was labor intensive and completely from scratch. Second, the last review is a few years old and there is no photo of this recipe yet. I pretty much followed the recipe as written. For the chocolate cookies, I used Oreos, which I chopped finely in my blender. The caramel sauce turned out nice and creamy. For the fudge I realized I was out of Karo syrup as I was making it so I made a homemade verision. The espresso fudge is amazing, don't substitute or leave out the espresso! For the vanilla ice cream, I made homemade vanilla ice cream using a David Lebovitz recipe. On top of the last fugde layer on top of the ice cream I added Godiva 85% chocolate shavings then I piped on homemade whipped cream and added cherries. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Maybe Im not as advanced as the other cooks who have rated this recipe. Though the finished product tasted outstanding, the process was not easy. I melted my spatula into the caramel sauce and had to re-do that part. I forgot how hot the stuff was so when I put water in the pan I had to throw out, it splattered all over and burned my toes! I know that mistake was purely do to my haste. The part Im still not sure of is the last layer of fudge sauce over the ice cream. It solidified before I could spread it over the whole pie. Also, when I went to cut the pie, the top layer of fudge stuck to my knife instead of the pie. Maybe I didnt freeze the ice cream long enough and cool the fudge off enough. I hope that helps the next cook. I still recommend the recipe cuz no matter what it looked like served up, I was sooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
The taste was great, but I had to double the Espresso Fudge Sauce recipe, because it wasn't enough for two layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
The end result is very tasty, but it is not as easy as it sounds. This is a time consuming recipe because you have to continue freezing the dessert between layers, so allow plenty of time. I initially used a coated pan to make the caramel sauce and the sauce did not darken and eventually crystalized, so I had to start over. Also, my springform pan did not fit into my freezer (I have a split fridge/freezer), so I had to rotate the dessert during the freezing process to ensure that the liquid did not roll to one side and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. Last Superbowl Sunday, he even offered to go to the store for me to get ice cream if I would make this pie. One note: I had a really hard time with the caramel sauce and the crystals. I read to add a few drops of lemon juice to the water/suger and it would keep the crystals from forming on top. This is a rich but EXCELLENT dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
FANTASIC SUMMER DESSERT FOR FAMILY OR A FRIENDLY GATHERING. EASY, YUMMY, AND COOL. MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS WERE QUITE IMPRESSED. THANK Y0U.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I have to say, this recipe is FANTAB! I love to bring pies to my Bible Study and my fellow worshipers thought it was fantastic. I added crunched up Samoa Girl Scout Cookies (Be Prepared!) in the fudge layer. It was excellent. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I think this recipe was the best I have ever tasted. Easy to make and wonderfull for a parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
A definite crowd pleaser. The carmel in this is absolutely magnificent. My hats off to the chef for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States