M's Sloppy Joe Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A good recipe but.... I simply had to play with it to amp up the flavor and dial up the healthy: 1. Omitted the pureed tomatoes and used a can of tomato paste for texture and richness. 2. Used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar which added a savory layer. 3 Omitted the processed ketchup and used a 1/2 TBS of brown sugar for the "sweet". 4. Added finely chopped mushrooms to the almost cooked ground turkey to "beef" up the meat and add fiber and vitamin D to my meal. Finally, I did not add any salt. The flavor changes enhanced this dish enough so that I did not need to add any extra sodium. This was delicious on the leftover wheat pita pocket bread I had from a previous meal (lower calories than a bun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
great recipe!! it could use a little spice though…. I halved the vinegar and the worcestershire sauce and added extra ketchup and tomatoes. try putting some salt and pepper!! I also didn't add tomatoes and it was still amazing:) really great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I doubled this recipe. Instead of a green bell pepper, I used a large red bell pepper. I happened to be out of brown mustard, I used dijon instead. I made no other changes. I served this on kaiser rolls with shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top. My kids really loved this, which surprized me. They loved how spicy it was and they literally had their sloppy joes gone in two minutes, mess and all. Then they asked for seconds. The ones who were more lukewarm about it were my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I used ground turkey and absolutely loved this recipe. Did add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! The Grandkids Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Awesome recipe! The only alterations I made were to double the garlic and add a lot more Sriracha (I used about a 1/4 cup!), but that was only because I like very garlicky, spicy foods... A great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Yum. I made this with minor changes using what I had on hand. So, Dijon mustard instead of brown. Cider vinegar instead of white. I used a can of diced petite tomatoes and pureed that with the other sauce ingredients and added one extra clove of garlic to the mix. This was an easy, adaptable all purpose recipe. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was awesome!!!I had added the 4 peppers(green,red,orange and yellow),and only squirted some of the hot stuff as I can no longer handle hot/spicy as much any more...Then my son took over the cooking and added marble cheese all over the sloppy joes...I will be making this again and again and again...This was so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe has great flavor! My husband absolutely loved it. I will make it again - exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My husband and I loved it! Even my picky 6 year old ate it right up. I made a few mods myself. I chopped up the onion and bell pepper really small. I only used 1/4 of a really large onion and half of a large bell pepper. I used a can of tomato sauce and left out the garlic pepper sauce(due to the kiddos). Also used beef. Other than that everything else was the same. This is in my recipe book as a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States