M's Sloppy Joe Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Big hit with all generations! My hubby and I were talking about never having had a really good Sloppy Joe, and my mother had actually never had it (she never went to public school cafeterias) - so after reading the rest, we found the best. Some Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and Gulden's mustard makes this grand. We did let everyone put their own hot sauce as we all have different preferred heat levels (from nothing to Sriracha). Thanks for a new family treat, semigourmet and "M"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Wow what a delicious meal!!! M's Sloppy Joe Sauce pushes the others to the side. The sauce remains saucy so it is more sloppy than the others but not messy. I ate these as an open faced sandwich (knife and fork) as well as on a bun and I didn't wear any of the filling, ever. The sauce is tangy, not too sweet. I made my own bbq sauce and had to use Angostura bitters instead of Worcestershire sauce for health reasons. The outcome was a flavourful, savoury with a hint of sweet, thick sauce that melts in your mouth. The key here is the garlic chili sauce. It has that pungent aroma and kick when you taste it but never too spicy and not too overpowering. It simply coheres with the other flavors. This is not the school cafetteria version, this is adult sloppy joes. Sip a cold beer with these and you'll be happy you finally grew up! Thanks Semigourmet for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I used ground beef. The tanginess of the sauce is really good. I drained the cooked meat before adding the tomato sauce, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved the garlic and spiciness of this sauce, however it was way too sour for my taste. I added two tbsp. of brown sugar plus a dash of liquid smoke. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A good recipe but.... I simply had to play with it to amp up the flavor and dial up the healthy: 1. Omitted the pureed tomatoes and used a can of tomato paste for texture and richness. 2. Used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar which added a savory layer. 3 Omitted the processed ketchup and used a 1/2 TBS of brown sugar for the "sweet". 4. Added finely chopped mushrooms to the almost cooked ground turkey to "beef" up the meat and add fiber and vitamin D to my meal. Finally, I did not add any salt. The flavor changes enhanced this dish enough so that I did not need to add any extra sodium. This was delicious on the leftover wheat pita pocket bread I had from a previous meal (lower calories than a bun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
great recipe!! it could use a little spice though…. I halved the vinegar and the worcestershire sauce and added extra ketchup and tomatoes. try putting some salt and pepper!! I also didn't add tomatoes and it was still amazing:) really great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I doubled this recipe. Instead of a green bell pepper, I used a large red bell pepper. I happened to be out of brown mustard, I used dijon instead. I made no other changes. I served this on kaiser rolls with shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top. My kids really loved this, which surprized me. They loved how spicy it was and they literally had their sloppy joes gone in two minutes, mess and all. Then they asked for seconds. The ones who were more lukewarm about it were my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I used ground turkey and absolutely loved this recipe. Did add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! The Grandkids Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States