Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I thought these tasted pretty good. Although, I have nothing to compare them to as I don't recall ever having a snickerdoodle. I was a little let down as I had planned them as an extra dessert to cheesecake I was making for 4th of July. These just kind of scream Christmas! Only change I made was making 1/2 a recipe, which yielded 26 cookies with a cookie scoop. I also just used all butter. FOLLOW the directions at the end regarding not over-cooking! If they seem like they only need about 1 more minute, to bake, let them rest on the sheet out of the oven for that minute. I did 2 batches. One I baked until exactly done, because I was busy. They became hard and more flat when cooled. The other I took out early, as insinuated. Have a rack handy, because after no more than 2-3 minutes I would transfer them to it so as to not over-bake. My second batch stayed nice and soft in the center, and had a thicker texture, following the last step more precisely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great recipe. Nice and soft. I see some had issues with not coming out right. Keep in mind how fresh/old your ingredients are, the temperature outside and inside your home, incorrect measurements. Turned out perfectly. The dough is really soft when you mix it so putting it in the fridge will make it easier to work with and shape the balls. Like 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great recipe! Every time I have made these for a party, everyone has said how great they are! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is a great cookie . Followed as is although I did double it . Will make again for sure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I doubled this recipe and it made 5 dozen cookies. For the sugar-y coating, I used Trader Joe's Cinnamon-Sugar mix, and then added in a little bit more sugar. I used my small scoop to make the balls, and then baked them for 8 minutes and 20 seconds. PERFECT! Crunchy when you want them to be, soft when you want them to be, and ALWAYS delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by snickerdoodle11
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
You will love these amazing snickerdoodles, I sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years - It's my daughter's favorite! I make them where I bake and they are a favorite there as well. I usually don't like using shortening, but it's a must for this recipe. Underbaking is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made them larger but underbaked to 11-13 mins at 375 degrees as suggested and came out perfect! It really does look undercooked when coming out of the oven but the next day it turned more chewier than the day I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious! We have loved all of Mrs. Siggs' recipes, so far. No exception to this cookie. It baked up nice and airy, yet chewy on the outside. I used my cookie scoop to form and drop in the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Worked perfectly. Definitely will be using this recipe again, so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
AMAZING!!! I put the dough in the fridge for a bit prior to rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States