Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My family loves these cookies. They are soft and chewy. I took them out at 8 minutes and they were just barely under done so I put them back for 1 minute longer and that was perfect. I substituted margarine for the 1/2 c. shortening because I did not have any and I only had a 1/2 c. butter left. I also substituted the cream of tartar and baking soda with baking powder because I had no cream of tartar. I was worried those modifications would ruin the cookies but they came out absolutely fabulous. Best cookies I have made so far. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Shenefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very good cookies! But I used brown sugar and let it cook for 14 mins!Q
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexis S Cunningham
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
These are so GOOOD!!!!! I just made them omg! Only tip is i used 2 sticks of butter instead of shortening, used my hands instead of the mixer, and dont forget to use parchment paper or foil bc they will stick if you use butter. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Very easy cookie to make. The only change I made was 4 tsp. of baking powder. I have made other cookie recipes with baking soda and cream of tartar and didn't like the taste. Also tried varying the oven temp between 375 and 400, the cookies had to be closely watched at the higher temp. Other than that I was completely surprised at how easy the cookies were to bake. Unfortunately I has to make another batch of cookies. Couldn't keep from eating them!!!!!!! Thanks for the versatile recipe. Next time I am going to try lemon extract with lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just made these cookies today...there are delicious I did not have cream of tartar so I read the review & used 2 teaspoons of baking powder...will be making these for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmwest
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Def ok but I agree lacking that push over the top. The cinnamon to sugar ratio is off I think, as cinnamon leaves a dusty feel to the palate in this amt.. Needed 2 tsp sugar to one tsp cinnamon. Also butter flavor crisco best option. Not a really sweet cookie anyway, but could do half light brown and half regular sugar.I think this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Best recipe for snickerdoodles! I tested my baking soda and it didn't fizzle so I added 2 tsp. of baking powder in place of cream of tartar as another reviewer had recommended. They turned out thick, didn't spread much, with a crispy outside and chewy center. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly and be sure to use fresh baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great snickerdoodle recipe! I had it bookmarked from last year, so it's definitely one I've used once or twice. Made them again this morning. The only difference is that I add more flour. Maybe it's the weather here, but I had to use almost 3.5 cups. Also, I do add some cinnamon to the dough, to give a little more spice. Nine minutes is a perfect bake time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Wow did I really just eat 4 of these hot from the oven? Yikes-yes, yes I did. But they were amazing. I may cut back a little on the cinnamon as it overpowered the sugar a little but otherwise, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Worked perfectly. I did the baking soda test (after reading reviews) and it didn't fizz, so I added the 1/8 tsp baking powder to get it to rise. Followed reviewers' advice. Mixed by hand instead of electric mixer. Rolled in sugar/cin instead of shaking. Cooked 8 minutes on parchment paper and slid off the pan immediately upon removing from oven. Perfect. I froze them and am going to hope they taste freshly baked Friday when I have to use them for a cookie bar!!! Thank you for the suggestions. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,856) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States