Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Best snickerdoodle ever!!! If you're having a problem with flat cookies, there could be two reasons. Check your baking soda and Cream of Tartar to make sure they're fresh. Baking soda goes flat pretty soon after opening the box. I start a new box almost every month. To test it, just put a tiny bit of the soda in some water. If it doesn't start fizzing immediately, it's not any good. Also, if your eggs are too big the dough will spread too much. Most recipes call for large eggs, not extra large. When I make this recipe, I usually pour off just a tiny bit of the egg white, because I like my cookies puffy. Hope this helps, because I've tried a lot of snickerdoodle recipes, and this is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3004 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
HELPFUL TIPS: Bake for 8 min exactly! ...and you can even wait a few min. for it to cool on the cookie sheet just get it out of the oven! Either way, the critics (my family & friends) RAVED about these yummies, and I've never left w/o someone asking for the recipe! 1st: Use butter AND eggs that are room temp. I've used all butter w/excellent results. 2nd: Mix dry & wet separately. 3rd: Hand mix or you'll get a different result. Do not overmix. I never have cream of tartar, so I use 2 tsp. of white vinegar OR lemon juice. Lastly, I used a medium scoop. For the topping, I used 3T. sugar & 3.5 tsp. of cinnamon dumped in ziplock bag. Do not be afraid to over coat. It will NOT turn out too sweet (and I'm not a fan of sweets)!!!! Coat well. :) If your cookie turns out flat, I'd check to see if your baking soda has expired. To test, it should fizzle the second you place it in water. I've never had issues w/these turning out flat OR dough being sticky (which was really confusing to me to hear from others); just keeping them in our lock n lock container long enough before husband comes home. They store great, & I didn't have any of the problems many others did! I never need to put these in the refrigerator first either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Yum--love snickerdoodles. I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I do not like the acrid cream of tartar taste and the way the cookies completely flatten out (I like them puffier). For puffier cookies, I modified the recipe to use 2 tsps of baking powder instead of 2 tsps of cream of tartar, I roll the dough into 1.5" balls and bake the cookies at 375F for about 8 minutes. I also take the cookies off the baking sheet asap so they don't have time to heat up and lose their puffiness. Just the way I like them--big, chewy and puffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is THE best recipe for making snickerdoodles! I've made it at least a dozen times, and I've learned a few things along the way: 1) For cookies that are crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, bake for only 8 mins. and remove from sheet immmediately to cool on wire rack. You may even want to lower oven temp. slightly. 2) I agree with a previous reviewer that cinnamon/sugar mixture should be increased to 3T white sugar, and 3tsp. cinnamon. 3) For a REALLY quick and mess-free method of rolling balls of dough in cinnamon/sugar mixture, place mixture in a sandwich baggie and drop one ball in at a time to coat. (Thoroughly-coated makes for a tastier snix). Enjoy! And thank you, Beth, for another wonderful recipe! ...Got any ideas for a good sugar/cut-out cookie? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
these cookies are great. maybe this is something all you cooks know, but i'm still sixteen and i figured out that if you cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixture, you get a totally different result in texture then when you mix it by hand. They taste the same but look way prettier if you do it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
FABULOUS recipe. I have made these before and they were a big hit! I'm not a big cookie fan, but these are irresistable. Made a double batch last night in my Bosch, and saved some dough in the fridge to make some more over the next few days. I forgot to buy cream of tartar after I made them last time, so got to that step & was trying to figure out what to do...when allrecipes.com came to the rescue: I went to allrecipes.com/advice/ref/subs/ and found out that you can substitute 1 t. of cream of tartar with 2 t. of lemon juice or vinegar. I opted for the lemon juice, and WOW, you'd never know the difference between the recipe with the cream of tartar and the one with the lemon juice! Just a hint for anyone else in the same predicament :) Thanks for this awesome recipe, it will be a favorite forever. Also, to keep your cookies soft, you can add the heal of a loaf of bread to your container of cookies/cookie jar. Or else lightly spray with water the tops & microwave for 10 secs. or so (time depends on your microwave) to give it that fresh-from-the-oven taste. Just a tip :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. I added a 1/4 cup more flour because I know snickerdoodles can be very sticky. I used a small ice cream type scoop (size 100, the size is on the scrapper bar inside the well of the scoop) and got about 68 cookies. I baked them at 375 for 8 minutes. Use parchment paper on your cookie sheets and just slide the parchemnt and all off the sheets to the cooling rack. Another hint is to scoop out all the balls first then roll them in the sugar/cinnamon. One way to keep them from making a mess of your hands is to wet your hande first. The dough will not stick to your palms as you roll them. These do flatten out but are definately a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
this was an amazing recipe! incredibly easy.. I needed a little more of the sugar/cinnamon mixture than the recipe called for. When I mixed up the second batch of mixture, I substituted half of the cinnamon for powdered cardamom. yum!! very tasty as well. Also, to the people who thought the cookies were too hard: when the cookies start to look cracked, but the dough still looks wet in the cracks, pull them out -- otherwise, the cookies get too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is a good recipe, BUT it says to remove cookies off pan immediately--that is impossible unless you overcook them. I learned this the hard way. So, cook for the 8 minutes, even if they look underdone, let them rest a couple minutes then remove to cooling rack. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My son loves the Snickerdoodles from our favorite restaurant and I decided to give these a whirl. Boy is he glad I did!!! They were gone so fast & he's been begging for more. My husband loved them too, but he only got to eat a couple cuz my cookie monster ate them all. Awesome recipe! Note...I didn't have cream of tartar, so you can substitute with white vinegar or lemon (look at the substitutions list on All Recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States